1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missing product key for Win XP - what can I do?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Triggaaar, Aug 21, 2005.

  1. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    I'm trying to install a legit version on Win XP home, but the product key has been lost. Is there a way to get it from microsoft (eg - is the 14 digit certificate of authenticity on the case sticker unique, and can microsoft find your product key from it)? Or is losing the product key the end?

    Thanks
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    you should be able to recover the license key from MS if you have the authenticity certificate... not sure how you actually go about doing it though.. :(
     
  3. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    are you sure it isnt on a sticker on the PC somewhere..? look underneath if it's a laptop.... you don't usually get the license key on paper if it's XP home.... unless you purchased it seperately...
     
  4. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    Yep, I purchased it from someone on here. The sticker that would be attached to a new PC is on the manual. I'm sure the product is legit and never registered, it would have just been an oversight. Unfortunately, it's taken me 5 months to get round to building a PC, so a bit late for me to ask for the code now (although I have sent a PM).

    The authenticity certificate, with the product key printed on, is what I'm missing (green piece of paper, like a tax disk, but square). What I have is a sticker saying it is a certificate of authenticity. I'm trying to find something on the ms website, but failing.
     
  5. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    As far as I know, you have to phone ( yes, phone!) MS with your 14 digit authentication code, and they will send you the Product key, but charge you (10 or 20 $) for doing so....
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Well Microsoft say, that when installing windows you must install the sticker on the back of the PC saying that this machine is running a "Genuine Version of Windows", if not it would be illegal to run the machine, even if your windows is legal, guess the only thing you can do is purchase a new version of windows, which would cost you £65 for the Home edtion or £75 for the Media Center Edition.., what I would do is type the serial number into your phone/pda, that way you will never loose it...
     
  7. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    Yep, I've just been through the section on lost product keys, and got the number to call (Mon-Fri). You get 2 calls of support free, and don't know about the charge for the product key.

    I'm also not sure where to say I got it from. Hopefully I'll hear back from Pulsar, and see where he bought it from.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  8. rdhir

    rdhir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    time to go for Linux or maybe MacOS:D
     
  9. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    The disks are not unique, so although you could probably find a key that works with that disk it would not be legitimate.
     
  10. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This should have the product key on it - if not it's not a COA.
    You no longer get the green certificate paper - I think Win2000 was the last to get this, all copies of XP come with now is the sticker that should be attached to your machine when you purchased it
     
  11. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    There is a nice key generator around, it takes ages to generate a key though and you have to play with the registery.
     
  12. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    Just pulling my jaw off of the floor.

    I've just called Microsoft, told them my situation, and with nothing from me, they've just given me a product key. I'm gobsmacked. Thanks microsoft.
     
  13. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Really? I've never tried that, I lost my key ages ago and was at a loss of what to do, it never occured to me that I could ring MS, I didn't think they'd be that accomodating
     
  14. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    I hoped that they may be able to use the 14 digit number I had, but they didn't even ask for it. They just took my name and email and gave me a number. I told them I bought the software with all the individual components of a PC, which isn't quite correct. I'll check where it really came from with Pulsar when he gets back to me.
     
  15. KoThreads

    KoThreads
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,961
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +157
    Hijack thread for code help.

    My main pc runs my OEM copy of Win Home (from ebuyer about 2 years ago) and up till now I also had it installed on 2 other pc's built after various upgrades, authorised by the phone system where you enter all those bloody numbers.

    Over the last few weeks when updater has found new updates it's asked to validate Windows. It validated the main pc fine, but it won't validate the other two.

    I guess it's because my license is only for one copy. What is the best way to go about changing it. Would Microsoft charge me less for 2 licenses than the current ebuyer price for two more copies (which I really begrudge paying as i've already bought it once)
     
  16. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    You need 2 licenses/2 legitamate serial numbers, try phoning microsoft and ask them where you can purchase it from or just go on ebay and buy two unlicensed copies of windows, you cannot update windows without a legitimate serial number which is only registered on the PC your using it on..

    They introduced them new security checks a month or so ago and for some of use it is a pain in the ass, cannot even download windows media encoder without validating windows, still it is only £75 out of your pocket for a legit version of windows, which is well worth it considering the OS is the most important part of your system..
     
  17. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    LINK
     
  18. KoThreads

    KoThreads
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,961
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +157
    Cheers Lisa

    Thank God i'm not the only person MS think is a crook
     
  19. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    I used to think they were, but today they're my best friend. After you guys of course.
     
  20. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    nevermind. :)
     
  21. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Does not work anymore ...

     
  22. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Hmm, well, don't know about the crack, but I reckon that disabling the plug-in might still work...... ;)
     
  23. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Nope, you just get a screen telling you that you need to validate windows, and that you have to accept the active X control and allow it to run, of course since you disabled the plugin the active x control won't show so it's a no go...

    It says somewhere you can purchase a license online but when I try it says it's only available to people who are known to have invalid codes, guess i'll just buy a copy off ebay for £75 when I buy my new case,
     
  24. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    You tried this?

     
  25. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Yes that's what I was talking about?...
     
  26. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    OK, just checking... sorry it doesn't work, you trying to activate or get updates?
     
  27. Dreamdog

    Dreamdog
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
  28. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Trying to get windows media encoder, any chance you can email it or something...I can give you access to my webspace so you can upload it to...
     
  29. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Yeah alright - pm me instructions...
     
  30. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Thanks But I'm downloading it now from microsofts site now, they must have two mirrors, one that asks for validation and one that does not...anyway Lisa, did you try any WMV encoding yet..?
     

Share This Page

Loading...