1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Misled by Sky operator...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Stuart Wright, May 14, 2002.

  1. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,816
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,548
    Ok, I'm wanting to get Sky digital to replace analoge telewest. We currently have 4 outlets and I'm prepared to drop to 2 Sky boxes plus 2 magic eye units.
    I was told by a Sky operator that a second box would cost £169 but I could try for a second hand one.
    I've since organised getting a used Sky digibox which should be arriving soon.
    There was no mention of me needing a 'twin LNB'. I neither know nor care what one of those is but on speaking to Sky again this morning apparrently I need one to have a second box and Sky won't install this unless I pay £169 for the second box from them.
    I've been misled. Oh bugger. Effing Sky.
    So what do I do now? Order a standard installation and then get a local supplier to fit a twin LNB and hook up the second box? Will that be expensive?
     
  2. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    I don't know whether you were considering getting Sky+ at any point in the future, but the installation for that includes a quad LNB. The two tuners in the Sky+ box use 2 channels, and that leaves you with another 2 to connect to normal digiboxes.

    Other than that, your best bet is probably as you say - order Sky through a local installer and ask them how much extra it would be for them to put up a twin or quad LNB instead of the single.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  3. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,816
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,548
    Sky+ would be £300 + £100 installation. Waaay more than I'm prepared to spend.
     
  4. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    Fair enough.

    A friendly word with your local installer is probably your best bet, then. Can't imagine a quad or twin LNB being that much.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  5. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,816
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,548
    Most local suppliers want £50 for the install if I got for the £37 full package for month 1.
    One company wants £80 to £100, another wants £25.

    It's then £60 for a twin LNB and £50 to fit it.
    I'm told you need a phone point for each box and I don't have a phone point downstairs so that's another £30.
    Making the cheapest install so far.
    £25 basic Sky install + £30 for the phone point + £60 for the twin LNB and £50 to fit it = £165. Too much.
    Any suggestions?
     
  6. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Like I said on the other thread, I'm getting mine through Sky. Brand new box for £6 per month + £50 installation.
    Any good for you?
     
  7. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
  8. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,816
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,548
    Lex - the £6 a month is for the £160 odd covering the box plus twin LNB. I'm trying to find alternatives.
    I don't know if I could install thetwin LNB and box myself. I have a tool kit and an above average IQ :)
     
  9. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    If you already have the dish in place and lined up it is easy. Just replace the old lnb with the new one (use a digibox signal strength as your meter) and then run one cable into each digibox! I am sure even a man of your modest intelligence can manage that! ;) :D
     
  10. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
     

    Attached Files:

  11. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    This may be a silly question - no claims to supposed IQ, cause it's a fraudulent way of measuring 'intelligence' - but don't you need 2 cards for two boxes?



    P.S. that picture Ian, gave me flashbacks to 1987 - Europe, White Snake etc. - did you get an autographed copy for ebay mugs?
     
  12. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,816
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,548
    Yes - a second card costs £12 per month and it mirrors whatever you have purchased on your first card.
     
  13. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    Spectre, where'd you opt for this second hand box from?
    £12 a month, you can see, not justifying here, where the card doubler dongle thing idea came from to make a duplicate of the existing one.
    That HCC article on tax for sat lot makes me think we may get stung further soon to cover that also - probably more Gov' creative taxing of the masses as smoking declines etc.
     
  14. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    ebay has a sky minidish WITH Lnb doofry for £27.50 inc, ticking away, just need cable - or whip Lnb off Spectre??????????
     

Share This Page

Loading...