1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Minority problems

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by MrFurious, Dec 2, 2002.

  1. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,494
    Tried to watch my minority report tonight but the disc 1 will not work,all i get is a message from my dvd player(a panny 80)saying that it cannot play a disc of this type??????firstb time this has ever happened to me,i'll take it back for another copy and see if that works.
     
  2. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    I pressume its region 2 right, as i dont think r1 is out yet, but isnt that what happens with rce discs

    sorry ignore that im sure thats wrong :rolleyes:
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,908
    1) What region disc?
    2) What EXACTLY do you see on screen?
    3) What, if anything, is displayed on the front panel of the player?
    4) What do the various buttons on the remote (except 'eject') do?
     
  4. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,494
    Ok,I got another copy of it today from whsmiths and still get the same trouble?
    It is the region 2 release
    on the tv screen the panasonic logo stays on
    on the front panel of the dvd it says no play
    then a panel comes up on the dvd saying this disc cannot be played????
    my panny player is one of the dvd amp combo's and has been chipped to all regions and this has never happened before with over 300 dvds?:(
     
  5. damien

    damien
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds to me as a dodgy disc try it on a different player but to tell you the truth i watched it mon night and you aint missing owt (maybe your dvd player has a consience and is deciding not to play arse films)
     
  6. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +98
    I have watched my R2 Minority Report twice over the last 4 days on my Tosh SD2109 with no problems at all.
     
  7. Ron240

    Ron240
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy (but i'm not a Fifer)
    Ratings:
    +442
    I got mine this morning and did what i always do as soon as i receive a disc.I put it in and skip through a few chapters to make sure that it plays ok,and it does. I have never seen this film,but the first thing that struck me about it was the way the picture looked.It is very bright with not a lot of colour.I have to say that i dont like it,but im sure i will get used to it when i sit and watch it. Did this film look the same in the Cinema? The last time i seen a DVD that had been done in this way,was Payback with Mel Gibson,but that was dark with not a lot of colour and actually seemed to suit the film.
     
  8. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +98
    Yep, thats the way it looked in the cinema..kinda blue..Spielberg going through his "tone" phase..usually does it in pairs..
     
  9. Ron240

    Ron240
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy (but i'm not a Fifer)
    Ratings:
    +442
    Yes you're right,it does look as if there is a blue tint on it.I will have to see how i feel about it after i have watched it all,which will probably be tomorrow night.I am looking forward to seeing it.:)
     
  10. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    I remember something about Payback being filmed (or at least had some treatment applied) to make the film look a certain way.

    Same thing with Three Kings as certain points.

    I believe the artistic flair of the directors sometimes have this desire to give films a "dirty" look or whatever.

    Actually, probably the most obvious example of this is Matrix.....the "matrix" world was given a green tint to the image to ensure that a certain vibe was created.......just watch the start of the fim to see what I mean......
     
  11. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    In the past film makers had to choose how a film would look by use of film stock (including processing), lighting or filters (Mr Soderbergh take a bow for Traffic).

    Now they can do it using computers - The extended edition of Fellowship Of The Ring has a feature on the process - "Digital Grading" where the WHOLE FILM was scanned, manipulated and then put back onto film. I said to my wife after watching the film that the scenes in Hobiton were the lushest greens I'd ever seen on film and that feature shows exactly how they did it. Really interesting stuff, just left me wondering how powerful the computers are that can do that (my nearly new P4 2.6ghz with s****y graphics card still struggles with photoshop).

    Evidently one can't say sw@nky
     
  12. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    hehehe makes me giggle :D

    Must be annoying if you live in s****horpe tho! ;) :D
     
  13. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    Ridiculously fast and powerful is the answer. I read somewhere :)rolleyes: ) recently that some CGI takes up 1Gig of space per second as they create/edit the files! :eek: Gigabit ethernet isn't fast enough to prevent bottlenecks on their LANS either.
     
  14. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +6,984
    I have done a quick review of the R2 disc HERE

    Agreed with picture, which is delibrate.
     
  15. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,418
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,024
    I have just watched it tonight on my humble Grundig and had no problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...