Minimum processor?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bretto, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    ***EDIT
    As this has been moved from the XBox360HDDVD forum, please consider i'm asking about the horsepower to run HDDVDs.
    Thank you
    ***

    I'm in the process of making a HTPC, with the intention of installing the XBox drive.

    What would you guys recommend as a minimum processor for smooth playback? I was thinking a core2duo 6300 would be more than enough......:rolleyes:

    I've been reading on the "pc/xboxDVD" thread about lower processors running on PowerDVD. Can anyone give me some feedback from their system?


    I'll be running in on an ABIT Fatal1ty F-I90HD motherboard which has HDMI out and full HD sound on board. + 2 gigs of RAM.

    Thanks, Brett

    Ooh, and if anyone can post a link to a complete idiots guide of getting the drive up and running on a pc that'll be GREAT :smashin:
     
  2. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    Dudes, should be ordering it tomorrow.....Don't be shy in offering an opinion. I won't sue if it's the wrong choice ;)

    Can i get away with a 6400 (yes, i've upped it a bit), or should I get the 6600?

    I'll be running onboard graphics if that sways opinion

    Thanks, Brett.
     
  3. WelshBluebird

    WelshBluebird
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rhondda
    Ratings:
    +135
    IMO, go for the E6420. Its only £125 (the same price the E6300 used to be) because of the recent price cuts. And since it has 4mb of L2 cache, a simply overclock to 2.4Ghz will make it identical to the E6600 (and it may even have a little advantage because of the higher FSB).
     
  4. andyr300

    andyr300
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +104
  5. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    Thank you both for your replies.
    I was talking to someone else who suggested that possibly the 6300 wasn't powerful enough for the Xbox360HDDVD. I'll look into that other processor. I haven't been an Intel boy for a VERY long time.
    Confusing the different speeds etc.....

    thanks again.
    Brett

    Oh, andyr300, does that HTPC run HDDVDs? I know the system I am building os powerful enough for everyday jobs, just want smooth HDDVDs when i get it :thumbsup:
     
  6. Synchro

    Synchro

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,537
    Me neither, and I'm building a HiDef system at the mo. :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  7. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    Although it's way more than enough for VC1, it's not quite enough for the hardest h264 discs. For example, Babel won't be smooth with that, so I'd go for a e6420.

    Of course, if you get a 8500/8600 card then it doesn't matter what processor you have, cos CPU use with h264 will be 5 to 10%.
     
  8. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    Now that's what i'm talking about :smashin:

    Thanks for the reply arfster....I'll look into getting a card later on.....my gaming machine has an nvidia 7800 so I may slap that in to see what it does (even though it is an "older" card)!
     
  9. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    It's got plenty of power, so if acceleration works properly then you can get away with a lot less than a e6300. However, it's a big "if" - Nvidia's h264 acceleration with the 7xxx series has an absolute ton of bugs/image quality problems.
     
  10. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    Interesting what you say about the 7xxx series graphics cards arfster. The playback I get on some films on my computer is dreadful at times. When I run them through my cra**y laptop via my LCD in the bedroom they are wonderful.

    Wonder if it's not my monitor but the graphics card.......
     

Share This Page

Loading...