• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Minimalist HTPC - opinions please (surprise, surprise)

barnclos

Established Member
Hi,

I've been lurking here for quite a while, and have finally decided to build an HTPC for bluray disk and DVD rip playback.
I'm trying to keep things as simple as possible, and built with as few components as possible ('cos this is my first attempt at a build). So here's what I had in mind:

Antec Veris Fusion Remote
Corsair VX - 550W
Asus M3N78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4850e
Corsair XMS2 DDR2 PC2-6400 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 - 2 GB Kit
LG GGC-H20L
Samsung SpinPoint F1 DT SATA II - 750 GB
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 - 32bit

Motherboard was chosen to avoid the need for a separate graphics card, and HD video and (7.1 LPCM) audio can be output via a single HDMI cable. I appreciate that the Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H (and more recently the DS2H) is widely recommended, but the last point about HDMI for everything is very appealing to me.

Antec case was chosen for the two large (120 mm) exhaust fans, as I was hoping to try the supplied heat sink without a fan. This is all new to me, so I'd be happy to learn now (before I buy) if this is a bad idea - perhaps I need a better heat sink, or a CPU fan (which targets the main heat source) is much more important than a couple of exhaust fans (which just do general cooling).

I went for a 550 W power supply 'cos it was only marginally more expensive than the 420 W, even though I guess that the smaller PSU would be cooler, and would be OK with only the mobo, HDD and BD to power. Again, I'd be happy for my reasoning to be corrected.

Everything else is bog-standard.

Any comments would be very gratefully received.

All the best,

Keith

jameson_uk

Prominent Member