Miller Brothers - How to lose sales & customers

J

joldinash

Hi there. I'm a newbie to these forums but i've got to get this one of my chest first.......

Having been thinking about setting up a dedicated tv/lounge in my house for a good few months, i decided a 42" plasma would look great on the wall.

I only had a budget of £1000 so i was restricted to what i could get, however after looking at some of the threads on these(very helpful)forums i decided to go for the Hyundai 4250 from Miller Brothers - £899.

So, clued up on all the jargon and info i needed and with money to burn i headed for the Straiton Retail Park branch near Edinburgh. I looked around for about ten minutes on my own as they also had the 4202 model as well, although from looking at the two it was clear the latter was the older model, but for some bizzarre reason was £999.

Suddenly a "sales assistant" appeared.. and what followed was like something from a monty python sketch......

SA - "can i help you sir?"

ME - "yes, can you tell me the difference between those two hyundai models please?"

SA - "just older and newer models pal"

ME - "so why is the older model more expensive than the new one?"

SA - "that's just the way pricing on plasma tvs is going just now" ????

ME - "ok, so is there any technical difference between the two"

SA - "it's probably a different manufacturer who make the tube" (think we're beginning to work out who the TUBE is here)

ME - "oh right, well i like the look of this newer model"

SA - "aye, thats a great telly pal, it's not hd ready mind"

ME - "yes i know that, but i'm on a limited budget and this is in my price range"

SA - "well as i say pal it's a good piece of kit and i've got 3 in stock if you want to take it home today"

ME - "any chance you could connect (his head is shaking already) it up to a dvd player to see what it looks like?"

SA - "no, i'm not going to do that"

ME - "why not?"

SA - "i'm just not"