Micro ATX - Recommendation

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by johndj1, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    All

    I'm just starting to build my Media PC and and am waiting for my Antec Aria to come through from Amazon in the next couple of days. While I'm waiting I'm wanting to buy some more bits, namely the motherboard, chip and RAM.

    Has anyone got any specific recommendations? Any help gratefully received.

    Thanks

    Dan
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Just got Hold of an Intel Viiv Motherboard...-£120

    http://uk.shopping.com/xFS?FD=0&KW=boxd945gpmlkr

    Great for a Media Center PC Build

    Add to that 2*512Mb Crucial DDR2 667 - £100

    Pentium D 930 - £240

    300GB Seagate NCQ SATA Hard Drive - £90

    LG 4166/4167 - £35
     
  3. fabbers

    fabbers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    That's a lot of money to spend on a processor just for a media pc, what about the

    Pentium D 805 Dual Core (2 x 2.66 GHz) only £89 over at Ebuyer
     
  4. Media-Man

    Media-Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +56
    the 805 or 820 is a perfectly good choice for HTPC
    There are cheaper VIIV boards available too if you want to go the ViiV route (ie. ECS 945-M3)

    other decent solutions include

    - Pentium M 740 (£140) plus a AOpen i915GMm-HFS (£180) - nice low power solution which will keep cool in the aria

    -ASUS A8N-VM CSM (£60) plus AMD3200/3500/other socket 939(£100+) - decent onboard (6150) graphics; again will run fine in that case.
     
  5. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    There must be, I just spent £120 on the Intel board, but it does come nicely packaged, with loads of software, and easy to follow setup instructions for newbies as well as a free game..., one hting I like about the Inel boards is not only do they come sealed, they have some nice temperature/audio monitoring software...
     
  6. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your input guys. So, here's my shopping list.

    Would be grateful if you could just check and make sure it's all cool.

    ASUS A8N-VM CSM - Mainboard - micro ATX - nForce 430 - Socket 939 - UDMA133, SATA (RAID), Serial ATA-300 (RAID) - Gigabit Ethernet - video - High Definition Audio 6-channel):
    http://www.it247.com/s.nl/sc.2/category.25/it.A/id.31199/.f

    AMD Athlon64 3500 Venice Retail Socket 939:
    http://www.aria.co.uk/productslist....=ProductInfoComm.asp?id=18149&specialstatus=1

    CRUCIAL - BALLISTIX 512MB PC2-4200 UNBUFFERED NON-ECC DDR2-533 1.9V
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...m9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=65722&_LOC=UK

    Any recommendations for a nice, quiet DVD Writer (I hear NEC are very good). Although I'm going to farm my existing PC for IDE cables etc, is there anything else I need? Any recommendations around Graphics card or a good card for capturing TV would also be good. Mediapc.tv, I see you mention Arctic Silver 5 Paste on your site. Wassdat?.

    Cheers

    Dan
     
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
  8. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,587
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +294
    Arctic silver paste is a thermal compund you put on the CPU between it and the cooler,it acts as a layer to ensure proper contact between the cpu and it's cooler.
    Whilst it's not essential if you are going to fit the retail cooler, manypeople prefer to fit it as it IS better than standard, just not sure you are oging to need it to be that good.
    What I personally would recommend is that you fit the zlaman copper cpu cooler to the cpu in place of the retail AMD one. Whilst the AMD one is not TOO noisy, the zalman is nearly silent, and I can say for sure that it will fit in that case, as I have built a few in that case, and used zlamans in every one of em. If you DO go the zalman route, then yes, use arctic silver paste.

    The spec of the motherboard on that site doesn't make it dead clear if it gives you vga and dvi and tv out... you might want to consider this depending on what you are connecting the unit to.
    As for a graphics card, again, it depends onwhat you are going to do withit. If it's mainly for HTPC use, then don't bother, stick with the onboard. If you ant to do gaming, then again, decide for yourself how much and how well. Basic gaming will be fine on that board. If you are wanting more, then decide how much you want to spend, then get back to us :thumbsup:
     
  9. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that.

    Any other thoughts on the other stuff, anybody?
     
  10. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, just one last one before I buy. Is all this hware MSME-compatible or do i need new/different stuff.

    Cheers

    Dan
     
  11. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,587
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +294
    I presume you mean MCE edition, in which case you'll have no problem ith that stuff.
    Might want to add a digital tv tuner though ;)
     
  12. Media-Man

    Media-Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +56
    The A8N-VM CSM does all 3 - TV out is by an optional TV out bracket that connects to the motherboard. Theres a hard to find official (and expensive) ASUS version, and a less expensive unofficial version

    Theres a A8N-VM available as well - this is the same but without DVI
     
  13. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    i woudlnt buy any intel for a htpc setup. i had enough trouble keeping my opteron cool in a HTPC case lol
     
  14. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's cool. Do you know what outputs it has? I don't have dvi, just s-vid, vga and component.

    To be honest, I am just looking for something to capture tv progs recorded from my new groovy telewest hd box anyway. Any recommendations?
     

Share This Page

Loading...