1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

messiah 2 or magic 3?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by zamwessell, Feb 1, 2003.

  1. zamwessell

    zamwessell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +92
    messiah 2 or magic 3? Which is better? I will be using dvd-r back ups.
     
  2. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +283
    stay away from magic chips, seriously!
     
  3. zamwessell

    zamwessell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +92
    why mate?
     
  4. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +283
    Lol, cant be bothered to explain........click HERE!.
     
  5. backtothefuture

    backtothefuture
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant read it without registering first :thumbsdow
     
  6. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hi

    I'am looking to get my Ps2 chipped .
    I have also been told the the Messiah 2 is the better one of the two,due to certain backups not working with the Magic chips .
    Just ask yourself how many people have had there Ps2's chipped with the Original Messiah .

    If you are looking to get your machine chipped let me know , as I'am still looking into getting mine done

    :devil:
     
  7. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +283
    Sugar!

    Sorry dudes, thank Bill for cut'n'paste hey?

    First post:

    A couple of weeks ago I purchased a Magic 3 chip, with the intention of a friend of mine fitting it in my US PS2 (model 4). He said he could do it, and I believed him - he has ten years worth of electronics experience behind him.

    Anyway, I get it home, try it out, and it all seemed OK, except it was displaying 'disc error' when attempting to load anything. After a while, the screen just goes black. Now, I've read some diagnostic info from various mod-chip suppliers which suggests that my PS2 isn't totally dead. The thing is, who/where can I get it fixed? I have a feeling the unit still works, but the chip hasn't been fitted properly

    reply: Sorry to say this but you are being taken for a ride.
    The Magic chip runs at 5v the PS2 mainboard runs at 3.3v - the Magic chip pulls too much current causing abnormalities from motherboard failure to disk errors. There is also a documented error where a power spike occurrs causing FMV to freeze (another pic chip must be added to counter this)

    Myself and many others I'm associated with will not use magic chips or work on a PS2 older than V5. For this simple reason: you pay me £65 to have your machine modded - end of story. I am never going to see that machine again and you will have a modded PS2 for the duration and will encounter no errors.

    There is NO chip on the PS2 worth considering other than the Messiah.

    [Comment on retailer removed by Mod - NM]

    HOPE THIS HELPS ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...