1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Meridian 568/596 upgrades.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Spligsey, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136
    Seems the boys from Stukeley Meadows have released details for the 500 series upgrades..

    Blatantly ripped this from the Meridian forum.

    Read & weep:

    568 to 568.2MM £1140

    568 to 568.2 £700

    568.2 TO 568.2MM £440

    596

    596 to 598DP £1675

    596 to 598DC £1200

    596 to 598DS £1200

    596 to 598AP £1825

    596 to 598AC £1350

    596 to 598AS £1350

    A 596 progressive video output upgrade is also available as a kit for £475. Prices shown are UK recommended retail including VAT.

    568.2MM = Digital MHR Smart Link added
    568.2 = Standard configuration.

    DP = Digital (MHR) Progressive (DCDI)
    DC = Digital / Component (Non-Progressive)
    DS = Digital / SCART

    AP = Analogue (DVD-A connex - RCA) / Progressive (DCDI)
    AC = Analogue / Component (Non-Progressive)
    AS = Analogue / SCART

    Adzman
     
  2. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    As our resident Meridian enthusiast, do you have any opinions you would like to share as to what components are actually upgraded and whether any of these upgrades are actually worth the money?
     
  3. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136
    Nicolas.

    I do think that the upgrade costs (on a whole) are expensive.

    I feel sorry for 568 owners
    I feel sorry for 596 owners (me)

    568.2 - 568.2mm is about what i expected.

    I dont agree with the 596 or 568 upgrade pricing.

    As to what components are added. Don't know, i leave that sort of thing to Meridian and read what it says on the tin.

    Doesn't really mean much to me @ the moment, coz i'm skint

    Adzman
     
  4. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136
    Actually, i forgot to add that it is anticipated that the 596 upgrades are only gonna be available for the following 6 months.

    It appears no such timespan has been placed on 568(.2) upgrades.............

    Nothing set in stone...but that's the whisper.


    Adzman
     
  5. martintyler

    martintyler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    When are they going to upgrade to understandable model names? :)

    I'm sure if you are familiar with the kit it all makes sense, kind of like model names of some cars when you dont know them well (bmw, mercedes etc)
     
  6. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    The naming does take some getting used to, but there is some consistency. The 500 series and 800 series represent their high-end and ultra-super-high-end-which-no-one-could-ever-possibly-afford ranges. That's the first digit. The second indicates approximately the type of product, e.g. a 5 represents a power amp and a 6 represents a home cinema processor or system controller. The third digit distinguishes one model from another, and the one after the decimal point represents a comparatively minor change to an existing product.

    Thus, a 558.2 is a more advanced 558. A 558 is obviously vaguely the same sort of product as a 557 or a 559. An 861 is conceptually similar to a 561 but fantastically much more expensive, and so on.
     
  7. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136
    Martin.

    Yes, i agree.

    Typical Meridian..

    I shall be looking to converse with them @ the Bristol show.



    Actually, on a separate note, i think the 'Progressive kit' is not outrageously bad (I didn't say it was right) for £475.00 (well it wouldn't be in my config)

    I'd be looking to swap the ghastly, horrible, shyte, 'why-did-i-get-this-connex' SCART output to BNC Component (DCDI),

    I have only recently (in last 3 days) seen the 598 in progressive action, and it's a very good picture indeed.
    (Cheers Pete.....if you pop in!!!)

    Money is worth it to me...to get rid of that effing SCART

    Adzman
     
  8. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was talking to the local importer, and quite liked the digital link, it will pass DVD-A... If only TAG would do the same soon... :rotfl:

    Does Meridian´s PS module do PAL, on their page it only mentions NTSC...

    If TAG takes too long for DVD-A, I might jump sides... :devil:
     
  9. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136
    Antonio.
    Well, if you are talking about the 598 or upgraded 596 you CAN specify either their MHR Smart Link OR analogue RCA's.
    I suppose the advantage of having RCA's is that you donot have to use Meridian 568.2 processors.
    I think you loose an Optical output if you specify RCA's, as the 'real-estate' is quite full on the back panel!!!!
    A multichannel analogue input card is available on the 861 processor (along with MHR Link) This is the sort of flexibility you pay for on their card based plug-ins.
    If a person wishes to use Meridian 568.2 for DVD-A, then they HAVE to get MHR Smart Link on their 598 or upgraded 596.
    Of course, the MHR Link is proprietry, so you could say that you are placing your onions in one field, although Meridian really do know what DVD-A is about.
    Will DVD-A be a big success?..another question to ask oneself!
    Naturally, you can pass your 2 channel stuff & multichannel movie soundtracks via the MHR Link, which Meridian 'says' enhances reproduction.
    What's the word with TAG?..Is theirs likely to be an 'industry' standard connection, or is the idea on Proprietry Links?

    I would imagine that PAL PS wouldn't be a problem once Meridian decide when the 'time is right'????..That's something i will have to ask them @ the forthcoming Bristol Show.
    Not 100% sure what the word on the street is about that.

    Adzman.
     
  10. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it would have to be both the DVD and Processor, as for DVD-A surviving, if it doesnt, at least I would already have the digital link with enough bandwith to support the new standard... :smoke:

    TAG is waiting for a standard link, probably HDMI, it is a saffer bet, but it is taking ages... :boring:
     
  11. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    Am I right in thinking that in order to use Meridian's much-vaunted up-sampling algorithm with film material you have to be using a Meridian DVD with MHR link so the DVD player's DSPs can do the first stage of the decoding process? Or did I just imagine that?
     
  12. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136
    Nicolas.

    I believe that when Meridian DVD MHR is linked to 568.2MHR the movie decoding is done in the player, allowing the upsampling to be done in the processor (on all channels)
    I'm not a techie guru, but i think i read that somewhere on the Meridian forum.

    Adzman
     
  13. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Whereabouts is the Meridian forum ?
    Equally gutted at rip off upgrade prices !

    JOhn
     
  14. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +136

Share This Page

Loading...