Memory - confused!

C

chromeman

Hello there,
I am looking at memory for a digital camera at the moment on the internet and I'm getting a bit confused! I don't yet have my digital camera, just wanted to compare proces of memory before I have it.
Firstly, do different cameras take different memory or is it standardised?
Whats the difference between 'compact flash', 'secure digital', 'SmartMedia' and 'MultiMedia'?
Sorry about the questions, I'm new in this game!
Thanks! :)

Yes different cameras take different types of media there is most definitely NOT a 'standard' that all manufacturers work to, having bought a camera you must stick with the particular type for which the camera was made although some cameras do have the option to take two different types.

The types are not interchangeable as they are physically different in size, shape, and connections.

The other issue to watch out for is the speed at which the memory writes data.

Some brands are better than others. A recent test in a magazine placed Jessops own brand very poorly. You pays yourmoney and takes your choice I guess. Can't remember what magazine it was though.

The memory makes a big difference when you are taking images at larger resolutions as it takes longer to write the files to the media.

On price I think, generally, that Compact Flash is cheaper than secure digital - especially at the larger sizes. Although prices in general have fallen dramatically. A 256Mb card costing around £45 -£60 will hold around 200 standard res 5 Mega pixel images.

And the IBM microdrives will fit Compact Flash based cameras.

CL

Chris Lamle said:
And the IBM microdrives will fit Compact Flash based cameras.

CL
IBM microdrives will only work in Compact Flash type II compatable cameras.

Mark.

I don't find speed of cards to be an issue, as another factor is the speed of the cameras electronics and the image data content can vary significantly , so in typical situations the difference is negligble.