Memory Cards for Boot O/S

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Monty Burns, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hi Guys,

    i've finaly given in and decided I need to build myself a new MCE pc.
    I'm trying to make a really quiet HTPC to replace the old AMD twin raptor box im currently using.

    Question is, are Memory Cards fast enough and big enough yet to be used as the boot partition i.e. contain JUST the o/s ?


    Thanks in advance! :thumbsup:
     
  2. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +368
    You could always get a solid state hard drive - but yes, they are, as long as you don't want vista!
     
  3. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Yes they are but remember that Flash based Ram has a limited number of writes (usually between 10k and 100k times) depending on manufacturer.

    If you had one with a lower write tolerance the OS could nuke the drive faster than you may think.
     
  4. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hey guys

    thanks very much for that! Your right about memory card soloution Uri - I found this out after some research.

    Now for the good news, Sean T is right. SSD's are the best way to go and these seem spot on :thumbsup: And the news gets better. There are a couple of 32gig SSD's out there for around £300 - not cheap by HDD standards but still acceptable for me. And now for the even better news, Samsung are about to release a 64gig thats expected to be about the same price(ish)... result!:clap:

    Thanks again guys for your info, much appreciated!

    Uridium - don't spose you know where I can get a cheap rear seat cowl for my Sp1 do ya? Mine flew off down the A40!!! :D Honda want 130+vat and i've had no luck with breakers or ebay :mad: Bu&^ered if i'm paying 130 for a bit of plastic - principle ya know.
     
  5. Decadent Fool

    Decadent Fool
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    Interesting thread; would really love a move to ssd :)
     
  6. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +71
    Scan have a samsung 4gb solid state drive for just £56.99 - and free delivery for forum members.

    Now that very tempting for non vista users...............

    Only £146.88 for the 16gb and £217.38 for the 32gb.
     
  7. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +368
    Anyone found a reasonably priced SATA 8 gig - don't need 16 as will be using RAID 0, and it's only for the boot part. in vista? Has to be SATA, mobo doesn't have IDE raid and don't want an external controller for a boot drive....
     
  8. southdownswolf

    southdownswolf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    We are experimenting with SSD's at work for our high end systems (CCTV), however they do seem to be quite slow compared to sata drives. I would imagine that they may be okay for a media centre. What will you be doing for storage drives though? If you are using SATA/IDE drives, which you would need to if you are storing video, surely they would cancel out the effects of using the SSD's? I presume you would be linking it up to a NAS to negate the noise?
     
  9. MikeC

    MikeC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northants,UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    You don't necessarily have to use 'proper' hdd's - see this article which shows how to use Compact Flash cards instead.

    I bought a cheap 1Gb CF card plus an ide adpator off e-bay and gave this a go.
    Amazingly it worked, albeit it took 10 mins to boot up and was a bit slow, which I took to be due to the slow speed of the CF card.
    Also had to use a cut-down version of Win XP to fit on the card.

    Not sure I'd recommend it TBH...
     
  10. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +71
    For me, all video's, films, tv series, music, are stored on a server and are streamed to my HTPC. This even works for 1080p HD DVD/Bluray.

    Even the quietest drives can still be "heard" and produce more "heat", so this would allow for a "cooler near silent" HTPC.
     

Share This Page

Loading...