memory card info please

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by buddyspudface, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. buddyspudface

    buddyspudface
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    i cant find the owners book for the wii and was wondering if someone could tell me why i cant save things to the official memory card? iv been to all the settings and cant make it save to anything else but internal memory:mad: .
     
  2. Billy Hunt

    Billy Hunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Worksop
    Ratings:
    +98
    I don't think you can save straight to the memory card.
    To transfer the data to the memory card go into options > Data management > Save Data > Wii here you have the tabs for system memory and sd card and can swop them over
     
  3. Te Bheag

    Te Bheag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +16
    I think also that you need to have run an update over t'interweb before it will allow you to use the SD card. You've probably done this already though if you can 'see' the SD...
     
  4. kb33

    kb33
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Ratings:
    +22
    Do you need an SD card to save games fro the Gamecube ? I tried Mario Kart and it came up with "unable to save game no memory card inserted "
     
  5. jammedherbs

    jammedherbs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Knebworth
    Ratings:
    +9
    You need a Gamecube memory card. They plug into the slots behind the Gamecube controller ports.
     
  6. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,018
    what size sd cards does you all use ?
     
  7. hillster

    hillster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    2GB but thinking of getting a 4GB card.
     
  8. Te Bheag

    Te Bheag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +16
    2Gig Viking from Ebuyer <£20. Works fine, it's actually a re badged Toshiba card.

    I think I read somewhere that 2gig was the max size... better check that.
     
  9. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
  10. kb33

    kb33
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Ratings:
    +22
    OK thanks found that ..So why do you need an SD card ?
     
  11. shagaboopon

    shagaboopon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +367
    At the moment few people need a SD card unless your using the photo viewer but eventually as you fill up the internal memory it will allow you to backup to SD card to free up space. It also allows you to backup your saves.
     
  12. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,018
    right. im currently using a 512mb.
    i did buy to use with my sat nav lol
    (for extra maps )

    so il be best to get a 2gb one then.

    for the wii...

    thanks il have a look about. :smashin:
     
  13. Te Bheag

    Te Bheag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +16
  14. TheBiGW

    TheBiGW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,508
    I believe you can also store games downloaded for the Virtual console on there, so if you're planning on going nuts and gettings loads of those it might be worth getting a card.

    Myself, I won't bother - seems to be plenty of room for saves/channels for my purposes on the main console itself
     
  15. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,018

    thanks but i wont touch ebuyer with a barge pole.
    after getting ripped off by them.

    il try forums first. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...