1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Medion MP3 from Aldi £49.99

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by alancolledge, Jul 3, 2004.

  1. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
  2. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well I bought one.........

    Chuffed to bits. Plays MP3 WMA and records in WAV in various qualities. Seems like a well put together bit of kit and includes built in USB connector which folds away, 2 headphone jacks for sharing(!) and I am sure a 512Mb card is going to follow shortly!

    On the Arkon unit has anyone used one? as I would be keen to use this in the car now.
     
  3. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alan,
    Can these players operate as a USB disk recognised by windows and accept data files?

    Regards
    John
     
  4. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'm about to buy one hoping it'll double up for data use so I'll let you know.

    Ian Guinan
     
  5. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    sticker,

    The player is recognised as removable drives. There are 2 separate drives shown, 1 for internal memory and 1 for the sd/mmc card.

    I have just dragged and dropped using windows explorer. As it is an external drive it says it can be used for data storage although I need to read the maual again as it says the player only reads .mp3 .WMA and .wav files.

    For the price I think this is a steal!
     
  6. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Alan/Ian

    I agree for an expandable MP3 player its excellent, can't see it on their site though anymore :(
     
  7. gabban

    gabban
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you know what sort of mp3 and wma it will play ?

    MP3 - 192, 224, .. is there a limit ? 128 only ?
    will it play VBR or only CBR ?
    does it support ID3 tags ? which ones ?

    WMA - v7 ? v8 ?

    TIA
     
  8. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sorry gabban, missed your post :hiya:

    In answer to your questions
    It plays all the types of mp3 I have chucked at it from 80kps to 320

    'will it play VBR or only CBR?' Sorry you have lost me on this! A CBR is a honda bike to me :blush:

    If supporting ID3 tags means that it scrolls the title, as saved, yes it does.

    WMA v7 or v8 again not sure of this. I have ripped a cd to WMA format through Nero 6 and it played just fine.

    On another note I have been looking at sd/mmc cards to expand and have seen some 1gig cards. Nothing is noted in the instruction manual, but do these kind of solid state players normally have a limit to the size of the card expansion?
    I don't want to spend that kind of money to find out it doesnt work!
     
  9. andy572

    andy572
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +2
    Aside from mmmmm Fireblades and the like, CBR and VBR refer to the the manner in which the data is encoded to mp3, alan. :laugh:

    CBR, meaning Constant Bit Rate, encodes the data using the chosen bit-rate throughout i.e. selecting '320 kbps', the data will always be at that rate.

    On the other hand...

    VBR, meaning Variable Bit Rate, encodes the data using a bit-rate deemed 'necessary' at a given instant. For instance, during moments of silence, the bit-rate will be lowered as it is considered that there will be little impact on what is heard. Likewise, during 'busy' periods, where there is a lot of detail to be heard, the bit-rate will be increased. VBR can be a way of getting a more 'efficient' recording i.e. it is possible to achieve a good balance of sound quality and file size; but is down to balancing one's taste, preferences and requirements regarding file size.

    Hope that'll do ya :smashin:
     
  10. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    Very well explained! :smashin: I will look at Nero 6 tonight to see if it gives the option on the bit rate.

    Would still like to know about the large card size and if 1 gb is as 'trustworthy' as a smaller capacity.
     
  11. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well I got a 1 gb MMC off fleabay for £57.00 +P&P shipped from the states.
    After having my blood boil after messing with the format of the card all works just fine and dandy :thumbsup:
    I now have 1.128gig of memory :clap: :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...