1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Medion DVD player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Langas, Nov 30, 2000.

  1. Langas

    Langas
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any region hacks for a Medion DVD player???
     
  2. clone

    clone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hack is the following:
    using the remote and with no DVD in player.
    power on
    menu
    9
    open/close
    5
    choose region 1-6

    This is what i have read on other posts.I don't own the player so i cannot confirm it works.
    I guess you have seen it at Aldi for £129
     
  3. Adeh

    Adeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi clone
    The above hack does not work, also with tay open press 0,1,2,3 & play does not work, any other ideas. [​IMG]

    cheers
    Ade
     
  4. sleepy1

    sleepy1
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this:

    Changing to all regions

    Turn on the player with no disc in the tray
    Press menu
    Press 9
    Press open
    Press 5
    Press mute
    Press OK
    Press exit

    I got it from http://www.f17.parsimony.net/forum29324/messages/214.htm

    Hope it works.

    Incidently, what's the player like? Does it have RGB output? Good pic? Problem disks? I could be tempted...

    Thanks.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Thank's sleepy, this hack will not work either.
    I will get back to you, on your question's.

    cheers
    Tim

    ------------------
    Perhap's today is a good day yo die
     
  6. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Still no hack, have you got the hack for this player yet?

    Tim

    ------------------
    Perhap's today is a good day yo die
     
  7. clone

    clone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this hack (unconfirmed).Please let me know if it works.

    switch player on at base unit
    open drawer and leave open
    on handset type 8926 then region code ( 1 for R1, 2 for R2 etc..)
    put DVD in and close drawer.
    press play

    Let us know if it works...
     
  8. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    cheers Clone, the hack does work, and if you press 0 it becomes multi region. [​IMG]
    cheers

    Tim

    ------------------
    Perhap's today is a good day yo die
     
  9. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    I saw the player today for £99.99.
    Is it any good...i nearly brought one just to see what it was like, but i already have 2 others..so thought i would see what you guy's think of it first...it does look nice and the connection's are all there...does it do RGB from the scart..and the big question is...IS IT ANY GOOD?.
     
  10. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    This player is a bargain at £130, where did you see it for £99.99.
    1, It's multi region
    2, It's got a built in dolby digital decoder with all the cables for hooking it up to your 6 channel imput.
    3, It's got component video output, yes component for £130.
    Picture quality seem's o.k, only just tried my brother's out on my 41" and it looked great in composite. It played Galaxy quest dts r1 with no problems and Saving Private Ryan dts r1 with no problems.
    Only downer is no rgb output, but I dont like rgb anyway so it woudn't bother me.

    cheers
    Tim

    ------------------
    Perhap's today is a good day yo die
     
  11. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    It is in the local aldi store here on the south coast (hythe) for 99.99.
    I still cant decide weather to buy one or not.
    They had about 20 players left when i was there last week, with not many people taking much notice.......maybe i'll have to pop up there and have another look.
     
  12. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    6,960
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +621
    To bring this player back into the spotlight - I have just seen it in my local Aldi store (in Rep Ireland) and they have reduced it in price to IR£170 (£136 in sterling). There is one out on display and it looks pretty good in terms of looks and build. It has a Dolby Digital badge on it and has both digital and optical output. Might be worth investigating if you are in the market for a cheap player.
     

Share This Page

Loading...