Media Player

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by meikle, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. meikle

    meikle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I've got one of these media players & use it to store & play Music, Movies & Pictures on my TV.
    It's got a 160 GB hdd fitted along with it's own wee software setup.
    What I want to know is can I instal a newer better software to run the media, if so can anyone recommend one & tell me how to instal.
    I've just put all of my CD collection on it but some folders are comming up emrty.Thanks for any help

    ca076_g.jpg :lease:
     
  2. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    If it has a make and model on it that might help people to answer your question.
     
  3. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855

    And once you've established the brand I'd say first thing is to check manafacturers website and see if they have any software updates online.
     
  4. lfcfan_uk

    lfcfan_uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    the two chaps above dont lie :)
    make model + check the website
     
  5. meikle

    meikle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Just got the box it came in, no make, model no mention of a web site for support or upgrade usual ebay rubbish.
     
  6. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    You are not likely to get a lot of replies then sadly :(
     
  7. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,393
    When you install the software, does the software have a name?
     
  8. Whisper

    Whisper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,393
    Sorry, I don't think you'll find many people on here who have come across this :(
     
  10. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +968
    If the folders are showing up empty, the files are probably of a type unsupported by the media player?

    The "software" is ususally bespoke to the media player and will not be compatible with any other type, so you won't be able to change it. A browse through the manual or the manufacturers website may be useful to you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009
  11. meikle

    meikle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    Whisper, that's the beast (LOL).
    When bought there was no software to load, I just stuck in a HDD, Formatted it then started to load it with MP3s etc.
    It all worked fine until I started to paut a lot of music on it then when I opened a folder it says it's empty but when connected to PC it's all there.
    The manual shows how to update firmware but instructions are [email protected]
     

Share This Page

Loading...