1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Media Center (PC, DVI and Plasma)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by purplehorace, Oct 26, 2004.

1. purplehorace

purplehorace

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, :clap:
    Another newbie here. Ive been looking through a lot of the posts but seem confused about the best setup for using a plasma as a display for a PC based DVR system. Thinking of using Microsoft (yuck) XP Media Center 2005 as the base for the system with dual tuner card, DVD writer and bloody big HD drive for recording.

My thoughts are that effectively using the DVI input it should be pixel perfect and give a better picture than using VGA or RGB (forget S-Video or Composite too furry). Has anyone got any experience using such a setup ?

I was thinking about the best quality of budget screen for around 1.5k (trying to keep the full build including PC to about 2k). I have searched for screens that support DVI but there are only a few and the most reasonable being LG!!

Does anyone out there have any suggestions to make an informed decision 'cause its difficult trying to get any stores to demonstrate screens using the DVI input they just say that its like a TFT monitor with DVI input.

Feedback is greatly appreciated.
    :smashin:

2. AngryofMayfair

AngryofMayfair

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    to be honest I doubt that you would see the difference between DVI and VGA
    The quality of the desktop and jpgs from my laptop's VGA output looks stunning on my Hitachi 37" and very acceptable. When I first got the Hitachi I did drag the PC with DVI output across and connect it up via DVI but I can't say that it looked any better than what I now see from the laptop via VGA but then it was not an 'A-B' comparison...