Meadia Player internet video query

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by neil354, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. neil354

    neil354
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought a new PC which runs Vista.

    I have just tried to play a video from the internet, which on my old PC would automatically open Media Player and play the video.

    With the new PC it asks me if I want to download the video and asks me where to save it, which obviously I dont want to do.

    Can anyone suggest how to just play a video file without having to download it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    This is usually site dependent. Some sites will stream it, some sites will ask you to download it.
     
  3. neil354

    neil354
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    It is the same sites that I previously streamed from, so I think there must be a setting somewhere
     
  4. mc6701

    mc6701
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am having the same issue.....

    I have just made a simular post. My issue is that before when i clicked on a video WMP would open, buffer away for a few seconds and then play the video. Now it asks to download it and saves it to my hd before i can play it.

    Seen another post on another forum with the same issue and the answer was to click tools>option>file type in media player and insure all file types were selected. But in Vista and WMP11 there is not that option???

    Something must of changed as my system use to do it.........sites like 'You Tube' work ok as they play in the internet window itself.


    If i find the answer i will post it here for you...
     
  5. mc6701

    mc6701
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Seen another post with an answer about insuring proxy server is set to auto-detect in media player and IE7.

    But that doenst seem to work for me????


    Sombody out there must know.


    Please Help:lease:
     

Share This Page

Loading...