1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mce2005 programmable remote

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Werner, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have the mce2005 remote that lights up, with two power buttons at the top (one on the left and one on the right) then youmay want to hear that it is a programmable remote.

    The left power button (labelled TV) adn teh volume up and volume down buttons are programmable to control e.g. your tv on/off and you amp /spdit amp volume.

    Here is how you do it:

    1 Place the remote control for Media Center PC head to head (2 to 3 inches apart) with the remote control from which it is learning.

    2 On the remote control for Media Center PC, press and hold the DVD MENU and OK buttons at the same time until the remote control lights turn off
    (2 seconds).

    The remote is now in learning setup mode.

    3 On the remote control for Media Center PC, press and release the TV,
    VOL +, or VOL – button, depending on which command you want it to learn.
    The remote control for Media Center PC lights blink once to confirm the selection.

    4 On the remote control that is teaching the command, press and hold the button that you want the corresponding button on the remote control for Media Center PC to learn.

    The remote control for Media Center PC lights blink twice to confirm the selection. If the remote did not learn the command, the lights blink quickly four times. To try again, repeat steps 1 through 4.

    5 Repeat steps 1 through 4 for the other buttons that can learn commands.

    To restore the default remote control settings
    1 Press and hold the DVD MENU button and LEFT navigation button at the same time until the remote control for Media Center PC lights turn off.

    2 Press the OK button.

    The remote control for Media Center PC lights blink twice to confirm that the buttons have been reset. The TV button will have no command assigned to it and the VOL + and VOL – buttons will adjust the Media Center PC system volume.

    If the default settings were not restored, the lights blink quickly four times. To try again, repeat steps 1 and 2.
     
  2. Bonzaimaster

    Bonzaimaster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for posting this. It's a shame that it does seem to be possible to program the four colour buttons at the bottom as well.

    Another advantage of having this remote is that the range seems much better the OEM versions.
     
  3. timp

    timp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South Coast UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Should the other button (PC power on/off) turn off the PC - I can't get mine to do anything with my laptop MCE2005 - any ideas?
     
  4. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +37
    the pc button on my remote puts my pc into standby.
    which in turns then switches off after a pre-set time (set-up in control panel under power options).
     

Share This Page

Loading...