1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MCE update to support DVB-T radio

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by HiZ, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. HiZ

    HiZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Latest gossip on The Green Button says so anyway. Getting close to Media Portal!
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
  3. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +583
    not sure what the fuss is if you have a connection via a STB. All the radio stations I get in my Telewest box show up as channels and MCE treats then just like TV channnels.Therefore i can listen to and record them exactly as i would a TV show
     
  4. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    It's only if you are using a DVB-T PCI or USB card the stations are not listed, doesn't anbody follow the links?
     
  5. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +490
    As I posted just a couple of days ago the beta drivers for the Hauppauge Nova-T USB2 support DVB-T radio.

    The omission of DVB-T radio stations is an astonishing oversight by Microsoft who don't appear to understand any technology that is not available in the US. Beta testers were complaining about the lack of the radio stations before MCE 2004 even shipped in the UK i.e. back in mid-2003.
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Them Hauppauge drivers do not work with the PCI version, rather use the microsoft one, but it would of been smart of them to stick it in the Radio section not just have the stations as TV channels...
     
  7. HiZ

    HiZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Well...you all don't sound too impressed. I am! Now I can move my DAB tuner and get higher bitrate radio via the single interface. Whoo.

    The latest update must be days away from what I'm reading.
     
  8. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    So will the MCE EPG pick up Freeview radio the same as Freeview TV, and if so can you do series scheduling, and record from the guide, and in that case will it record as a dvr-ms file, in which case is there a dvr-ms to mp3 file converter prog ??? :confused:
     
  9. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Yes it will pick it up as normal station in the guide, you can schedule, pause and record, yest it will be a dvr-ms, stupid microsoft, they give us a feature we have been waiting for, for like 2 years then when they release it they do a crappy job, why can't they ask us or the community what we want not just do it their own way..., they should stick it in the radio section and allow you to record your stations in mpeg audio...damn even hauppuage worked put some effort in it...
     

Share This Page

Loading...