1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MCE + Sky Digitak

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by BiggieBig, Oct 6, 2005.

1. BiggieBig

BiggieBig

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Guys,

Right I’m a newbie to HTPC and have just ordered one.

I need advice on how I can connect my Sky Digi box to it. Basically I want to stream my sky box through my HTPC so that I can use just one connection to the plasma (vga).

Also if possible I want to be able to record and it's got to be wife friendly (i.e. easy to use via MCE)

Here’s the solutions I’ve thought of but have some questions:-

1) Analogue TV Card - But I don't want to compromise PQ, guess I’ll have to use s-vid or composite.

2) SweetSpot - Guess I can connect via RGB.
    a) Does the sound have to go in via a different card?
    b) Also I’ve heard MCE doesn't support this so will it be difficult to switch? (i.e. is it possible via the MCE menu)

3) Could I use some other capture card? Or may be even the satellite digital receiver from
    http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/pages/products/data_nexus.html

:)

2. chuckalicious

chuckalicious

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I did exactly the same.... however.

As far as I know, Sweetspot doesn't work in MCE, or at least not natively. I know nothing more about Sweetspot than that.

If you use an analogue input card, you'll be limited to s-video or composite, as you know. I don't think there's any way round this at all. I thought composite was below par, but I don't have a Grundig box and I wasn't prepared to get a scart to s-vid converter, but I imagine s-video would be acceptable quality, if your Sky box can output it or you get that converter from Maplin.