1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MCE PC - 300GB drive - ideal partition config?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by onefivenine, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    Hi folks,

    As per title I'm looking for suggestions how best to format & partition a 300GB Barracuda in a new HTPC build.

    I was considering two partitions - one 100GB for the OS install and system files - and the remainder on another single partition - for file storage.

    The HTPC will be used mainly for PVR, browsing, MS-office, games rarely.

    How have you guys got yours partitioned?
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    You will only need about 10gb for the OS and program files.. you can then have the rest as one data prtition, or separate it our for different types of files, i.e. music, pictures, small videos, recorded tv and data backup = 80gb, the remainder for films?

    lisa
     
  3. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +939
    I'd agree with Lisag, 100gb for the OS is way too much.
     
  4. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    Thanks Lisa and Inzaman...

    I thought I might have been a bit off the mark - but not by a factor of 10!

    OK so if I go for a 10GB partition for the OS etc...

    Is there any real benefit - apart from faster defrags etc - from splitting the rest of the disk into other partitions?
     
  5. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +939
    Its mainly one of convenience, i.e you know that all of x type files are in drive G say and all movie streams say are in drive F say.

    The only thing you have to be carefull of is getting the partition sizes correct as i am not sure if you can change these once partitioned.
     
  6. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    The MCE installer prompts for user partition sizes and it does the sums to end up with the 'real' storage figure - which is 286GB or so for my 300GB disk.

    Perhaps I'll go for two 135GB partitions - and a 16-ish GB (whatever's left) for the OS then...

    Thanks for your advice!
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,225
    Partition Magic works on MCE?
     
  8. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Partition magic works?!?... ;)
     
  9. stuartmc

    stuartmc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +0
    We don't partition any more except to make a small restore partition to backup the orginal OS installation. This was a recommendation on the MCE training course.
     
  10. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    That's suprising, what happens when MCE gets all messed up and you need to format and do a clean install? Surely all the media files should be safe on a separate partition......?
     
  11. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    i use 5Gb for my OS thats it. then have a 2nd WinXP for games and another for linux. rest of space for data/documents/media. whats this with partition magic talk, you lot never heard of fdisk, its easy and its free and much better ;)
     
  12. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    Linux... there's a thought... I wanted to try it a few years ago but I couldn't run a dual-boot system for one reason or another...

    How big a partition do you think I should allocate for linux if I'm going to go dual-boot and play about with it?
     
  13. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,225
    Er....since when has FDISK allowed you to re-partition drives on the fly without the need to re-format and backup data?
     
  14. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,225
    Yeah, if you have the brains to use it.....
     
  15. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Parition Magic and Ghost are two 'must have' utilities IMHO. :)


    onefivenine: one other major advantage of having a small(ish) system partition is thar you can use Ghost to take an image so that when ... note I say WHEN not IF ;) ... your Windows system goes pear-shaped you can recover it from a known good state.

    Don't rely on System Restore, it doesn't always work .. for example beta versions of WMP10 couldn't be removed from the Restore Point its' installer created!


    gigtek: your MCE training just shows how little M$ understand about the problems users have keeping their Windows systems running. :rolleyes:
     
  16. gordonfmoore

    gordonfmoore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    First time I ever need Ghost it let me down. However I hadn't used the verify image option so I guess I only have myself to blame. It did work in cloning a harddisk though - after I had tried it four times with different options - the manual is pretty carp(sic) at providing scenarios and explanations.

    btw PCWorld seem to be doing a good offer on it at the moment £27 quid - cheaper than direct and it is the latest v9.0. Ebay has cheaper, but after buying a suspect win xp with no cert of authenticity and therefore key I'm wary now of ebay software. caveat emptor.
     
  17. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,225
    Ghost v9 runs in Windows only!! :eek: :eek: So no good for restoring images from floppy disk!
     
  18. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
     
  19. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It spans multiple disks so it won't matter if it doesn't fit on one.


    Dave
     
  20. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    That's just what I wanted to hear!

    If I don't have a floppy drive - can I create a bootable CD/DVD containing a DOS version of Ghost and the drive image? I assume this would have to be Ghost 8?
     
  21. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    I am now sending this from my HTPC, and my C: partition is just 4.06gb, that is with Windows, MCE2005 and Program Files.
     
  22. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    But you boot the CD don't you? I admit I use V7, by the time V9 came out they'd bought-out Drive Image and combined the two but with DI7 you booted the CD to restore.

    You must be able to do that to restore a system partition.

    Typically about 2:1, I find.
     
  23. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,225
    i'm not sure, as my Ghost came with System works, so i'll have to check that
     
  24. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    Only other suggestion I'd make is maybe a 2gb partition for swap. I know it's not the same as having it on a different physical drive but it seems to make a difference as it's on a partition that never needs defragging....well you can defrag within the file itself but that's a different matter :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...