MCE/External drive/Router

gstadt

Hi Everyone,

picking up a copy of MCE later to dual boot on a 4yr old laptop - seems the lowest risk!. Also going to buy an external harddrive for all that media I'm going to download onto. Now I'm pretty new to all this :rolleyes:

So question is:- only got two USB ports on back of the laptop - is it possible to install the harddrive on the router and access it from there (suspect not as router, Netgear834G, only has ethernet ports and need to be installed as part of computer directly??) or will I need to get a USB splitter for the remaining port, for the other apps, mouse, printer etc.

Generally, plan is to:-

1) Back up all existing data
2) Install external harddrive
3) setup partition using FDisk
4) install MCE 2005
5) pray between steps 1-4 :rolleyes:

Any easy misses for noob??

Gstadt

richjthorpe

Novice Member
With a 4 year old laptop, you may find that it's only got USB1.1 which runs at 11Mbps as apposed to USB2.0 which is 480Mbps.

Check to see whether your laptop has Firewire as this is rated at 400Mbps (Even on older laptops) and this would free up your USB ports.

To answer your question, no you wouldn't be able to connect a Hard Disk straight to your router unless you have NAS which is basically a small computer with lots of Hard Disks.

HTH,

Richie.

gstadt

Hi Richie,

not sure what I'm looking for with a Firewire connection - has a Serial connection and smaller, similar to VGA, connection :confused: I do use the Netgear 2.0 USB wireless adapter though - does this mean the USB ports are 2.0?

Thanks again

think netgear does a router with a USB port so you can attach a drive, also you can get Ethernet hard drives from LAcie, which you can connect directly to oyur router and access from any pc...

gstadt