McAfee Net Protect Plus from BT Broadband

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by MonkeyPrince, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +1,124
    This is weird...

    Before I decided to buy a new laptop to replace a slow PC, I took the PC back to factory settings and re-installed my necessary programmes to see whether it would breath some new life into it (I usually do this once a year anyway)

    After everything was back on, it was still slow so I was convinced I needed to place the Dell order and the old PC was destined for the charity shop.

    Coincidentally, my current BT broadband discount is due to finish end of Jan so I was planning on getting a new broadband deal as well.

    Part of my BT Broadband package is free McAfee Net Protect Plus (full virus/spyware suite etc)

    I thought I'd try a free virus program (avast!) on the old PC ready for when I get the new laptop, in case I decided to get a paid one instead.

    Anyway - I uninstalled McAfee, installed Avast! and OMG what a difference :eek:

    My old PC is as fast as the day I bought it 6 years ago :clap:

    So, I'm gonna cancel my Dell order (or return it once its here)

    McAfee Net Protect Plus must have been been gradually slowing my system down

    Looks like I've just saved nearly £400

    I hope this helps others
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    I've been telling anybody who will listen for years what a resource hog and poor performer McAfee is :rolleyes:
    In the tests on this site McAfee only intercepted 52% of the test attacks - Internet Security 2012 review | Expert Reviews

    I've removed McAfee from more PC's than I care to remember and like you the owners have thought they had a new computer.

    Mark.
     
  3. Singh400

    Singh400
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Now uninstall Avast! and install Microsoft Security Essentials ;)
     
  4. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +1,124
    I had a look into that, but the few comparisons I found suggested there's not much between them
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice