1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MC-1 vs 561 vs 568.2 vs tag

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by gizlaroc, Oct 15, 2003.

  1. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    I have a DC-1 that I have been running with a parasound 855a and a rotel for rear duties and have been very happy with it, but today I bought a parasound 2205 amp as, like most people, I decided to upgrade when one turned up at the right price.

    This has got me thinking about my processor, it has the latest software and it had the better dacs and although happy I stumbled across a Meridian 561. This got me thinking about upgrading.

    I can get a the 561 for about £1000 an MC-1 for a little more and then I was offered a 562.8mm for £2.5k but with 12 months 0%.

    I like the idea of the 562.8 but dont like the lack of inputs, does the sound outweigh the versitility ?? is it worth twice the price of an MC-1 ??

    how will the 561 compare with the MC-1 ?? will I miss the Logic 7 of lexicon ??

    what about tag ?? at that price shhould i be looking at tag ??

    any ideas ??

    cheers


    :smashin:
     
  2. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +300
    Why not consider the Parasound Halo C2 while your at it ? In my opinion it is better musically and for home theatre than the TAG BP192 (havent heard a dual processor).

    You can get a new one for just over £3k and may even get the interest free thrown in.
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    Forgot about the Halo, may try and have a listen, however the 568.2mm is too expensive really but could have been tempted, going to £3k is probably too much money.

    Music isn't really important at all btw.
     
  4. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +300
    You could import it for £2k
     
  5. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    hmm, getting tempting :)

    any more info ??

    cheers
     
  6. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +300
    $4k in the States - 20% discount readily available - therefore $3200.

    Divide by 1.65 to convert to Sterling = £1939. You will have to carry it back in your suitcase though (book a cheap ticket to NY) or get someone to bring it here for you. It's not that heavy.

    Doable if your determined enough. Should have mine just after Christmas !!

    Voltage conversion not required per my understanding.
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    I am sure I have a couple of people who could ship me one over, may have to look into this.

    cheers

    Guy
     
  8. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    Unless you carry it by hand you will have to pay VAT on it.

    Personally I'd go for the 561 if you can get it for £1000 - that's an absolute steal.

    The 568.2 is very nice - far superior to the MC-1, IMO - but it's intended for a very specific market. To give it the full input and switching capabilities of a 561 you'd have to add a 562 system controller, and that's really getting expensive. Depends: how badly do you need lots of inputs and video switching?

    Logic 7 is nice, but Meridian's Trifield mode (for stereo music) may be a compensation. :)
     
  9. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22

    I've had an MC-1 for a couple of months now and would certainly miss logic 7. The main critisism of the MC-1 seems to be it's stereo reproduction. Like you I'm not bothered about stereo, but I did try it out of interest and it's not at all bad. Movies only................Logic 7 :D.
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    One last question, promise ;)

    given the choice of an MC-1 or a meridian 561 both at the same price, would one be better than the other or is it more to do with being different ??

    Does the meridian do 7 channels ??

    Inputs are not a problem, neither switch component which is what I use anyway.
     
  11. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    meridian does 7.1....... but no 6.1
     
  12. spiderv6

    spiderv6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to clarify that before you get stuffed - Unless you carry it by hand AND you don't get stopped by customs.

    You will definitely get done for VAT and possibly import duties as well if you get caught......
     
  13. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    I can get it through customs without import duty and VAT but still not sure if I want to spend that as the moment, or rather I am sure the missus doesn't want me to spend that at the moment :rolleyes:


    Think I may try the 561 as I am sure I would be able to move it on if it didn't do what I wanted.
    I can't see how you get 7.1 from it though if using analogue speakers all round, reading the manual it seems that you can assign the mains to the sides when using meridian actives across the front, is this right or am I missing somthing ??
     
  14. chrisgeary

    chrisgeary
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +159
    Guy, how are you getting on with your 561? I'm curious, as I'm considering it for my next upgrade to replace the 3803. Have you managed to sort the 7.1 question?
     
  15. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    check the MC-1 vs 568 thread out as I went doen the 568 route.

    The 561 would have been a bargain got him down to £800 (finished on ebay at £1170 I think it was so I guess he was chuffed he didnt end it early) but I was worried about having to use meridian active mains to get 7.1 and I had just bought a Parasound 2205 and rather like it, so didnt want to not use it.

    Having said that, after reading the spec, the digital ouputs to meridian speakers is a normal coaxial digital out, which got me thinking about using a dac with it.
    Then last night somone rang me to tell me that they had just seen a system using the 561 and he had done exactly this, there is a slight crack sound on the mains when locking onto the signal but not too bad and sounds pretty impressive overall ( he was using meridian dacs).

    the other thing was I would not have had a chance to listen to the 561 which worried me a bit, but not too much as it was a silly price.
     
  16. chrisgeary

    chrisgeary
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +159
    wow, i've just been through the user manuals for the 561, 562 and 568, and none of them have lip sync correction greater than 30ms. Surely this cant be right?
    I need 60ms for DVDs and 110ms for freeview.
     
  17. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    I use sky and a lumagen vision, and I have the 568.2 set to 26ms where as I had it to 50 somthing on the Lexicon, and it seems fine.
     
  18. chrisgeary

    chrisgeary
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +159
    i don't know what a lumagen vision is. i have a barco 801s and iscan pro line doubler. freeview needs about 60ms on its own, but the line doubler/barco adds another 60ms on top of that. looks like the meridians are no go just on lip sync :rolleyes:
     
  19. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    Lumagen uses the sil504 deinterlacer similar thing to the iscan, does freeview really need that much delay ?? wow !!
     
  20. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    Interesting, it looks like either the Meridian or the Lexicon is not giving accurate time delay.

    Do you miss Logic7?
     
  21. chrisgeary

    chrisgeary
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +159
    depends how big your screen is.. you might get away with 30ms on tvs, but on projector screens, i think you have to go the full hog at 60ms otherwise you start to notice it. i think sky suffers from similar problems from what i've read. maybe the iscan introduces more delay that other units?
     
  22. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    Yeah chips I do miss it on TV, I prefer it to prologic II, hoping the PLIIx upgrade with make up for it :)

    When I said I set the lexicon to 50ms I knew that the Sil chip was meant to delay the video by around 64ms so I set it to 50 and it seemed fine.

    The iscan pro uses the sil503, whereas the lumagen uses the sil504, chip to deinterlace and as far as I know they both have the same amount of delay.
    I am using a 72" 16:9 screen and an NEC XG PJ, there is also some sort of lipsync feature for each input as well that goes from 1-6 from memory, maybe worth downloading the manuals and read up on this feature, as I may have got this completely wrong :confused:
     
  23. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I must be one of the few people who rarely if ever see lipsync and who never bothers with delays......

    ad
     

Share This Page

Loading...