Maybe time for a change - Anyone using Emby?

• Thread starter Deleted member 39241
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 39241

I'm trialling some new HTPC software solutions, I have been using MediaPortal 1 / Argus TV for approx 5 years, and WMC for nearly 10 years before that, I was curious to see what else is out there in 2016.

So having installed and uninstalled many different things on my laptop to test, I really like Emby. Totally multi-platform, so I am able to configure and tinker with the media library from my laptop / phone / tablet (and playback if I want). And Emby Theatre is (possibly) the easiest to set up, smoothest and best quality video player that I have ever used :eek:

The downside is, it's not free, but $4.99 per month (about £3.50) seems negligible for the impact it can have for the household. Also, Emby seems to be in a fast lane of development, so that's hopeful for longevity and continual improvements. Also it has Frontview+ a solution for my second screen in the lounge, which seems to be a bit of a niche requirement.

Anyone any thoughts on this?

Would be interested in how it compares against the "Big Players" so please let us know!

I've been exclusively Kodi for the last few years and it does everything I need it to, but always willing to look around.

Best of luck. Let us know how you get on.

I've tried my fair share of HTPC/PVR software over the years - free and paid for - before settling on Media Portal in 2011 when I built the current HTPC.

The website:
Emby
The premiere version isn't free but the it looks like the free version has a lot of features.

Yes, I was using the free version for a while, but playback in Emby Theatre is limited to 1 minute, Emby Theatre seems really good, so I thought I'd pay to play! The server part of it and lots of other player apps seem to work with the free version.