Maybe a stupid question ( formatting ? )

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mar©, Oct 31, 2004.

  1. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wen one wants to re-use a

    DVR-RW

    or

    DVD+RW

    or

    DVD-RAM

    do you have to FORMAT these disks, just like in a computer, and how long is the formatting time ? :blush:
     
  2. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nobody ? :lease:
     
  3. johnjackthom

    johnjackthom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +283
    I use DVD-RAM in a Panasonic E55 and all you have to do to regain disc space is either partially or completely erase programmes, which takes less than 30 sec.
    Formatting is rarely required but only takes a minute or so.


    I can only comment on using DVD-RW in a PC burner where a quick erase seems mandatory before re-using a disc. This takes somewhere around 1 minute. I suspect in a standalone DVD recorder it works in a similar mode to RAM but now I'm guessing.

    Nothing too time consuming in any case. :)
     
  4. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply.

    So to format a DVD-RAM ( complete ) , it takes approc. a minute ?

    But I thougt a DVD-RW takes a long time to format, at least in a computer.
    I am speaking of a normal format ( not a quick format )
     
  5. johnjackthom

    johnjackthom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +283
    Yes a full format of -RW would take around 33 mins on my burner; just that I have never felt the need to use it. I suppose if you want to thoroughly check the media before burning this is the way to do it.
     
  6. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have finalised a RW disc, you have to re-format/initialise it again. This takes around 2-3 minutes which, I assume, is the equivalent of a "fast erase" on a PC. As you don't finalise a DVD-RAM, you just erase the recordings or re-format.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. Niburu

    Niburu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there.

    If you are using +RW discs, you do not have to re-format, just delete the titles you don't want. You can `erase disc` if you want, which will wipe the disc clean and this takes about 20-30 seconds. No finalising is required on these either.
    Hope this helps ....
     
  8. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Niburu is correct is saying that you do not have to re-format RW discs but ONLY if they have not been finalised. If you want the RW disc to play in another DVD player you will have to finalise the disc. I cannot play a RW disc recorded on one machine and play it on another without finalising it first. In my experience, an un-finalised RW disc only plays on the machine it was recorded on unless it is finalised.
     
  9. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I'm beginning to see clear now... :)

    So when I record a film, that I want to play in another player/recorder, I must always "finalize" it.
    But then, when I want to re-use ( is this the correct word ? I'm from Belgium...) I have to do a full-format, and THAT can take half an hour...

    Mmmm....not so user-friendly... :lesson:
     
  10. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, a quick format will do fine.
     
  11. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops, yes, only if they have NOT been finalized... :blush:

    @ Tabatha: Is your signature correct ? So many DVD-recorders ?.??
    A heavvy hobby or just wishful thinking ? ;)
     
  12. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes mar© - you are correct - a quick format/initiaise is usually all that is necessar if a RW has been finalised.

    Yes - my sig is correct! We are involved in the AV industry hence the number and variety of machines.
     
  13. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW, nice job !

    -off topic - : So you can tell me which is the best DVD-HD recorder nowadays ? I also like to buy a DVD-recorder which never needs to return to the factory. :smashin:
     
  14. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is not really possible to answer as it all depends on what features/quality you require.

    It's a bit like buying a car - a cheap second hand car is much cost effective than a brand new Ferrari and both will get you through a city centre traffic jam as quickly. The second hand car depreciating less and being far cheaper mile per mile.

    With recorders you have to decide whether you want the ability to record to -RW or +RW. The Panasonics don't record to RW and use DVD-RAM discs instead. Do you want MPEG4 capability? Progressive scan? hi speed dubbing? ILink/1394/Firewire Input and Output? Ethernet? - Many people are very happy with the Toshiba RDXS32 (as I am) but I also like the Panasonics. I think most people would, at the moment, point you to one of these two makes. Sorry I can't help further - You need to ask yourself what features are essential for your needs and take it from there.
     
  15. Mar©

    Mar©
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, thanks anyway - I will open a new topic to prevent that we are going to much off-topic. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...