Max distance from dish to box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by eeper, Mar 11, 2004.

  1. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I'm getting a Sky minidish installed at the back of our property because we are in a conservation area. Trouble is, this increases the cable run to the Sky+ box to about 20m. The Sky guys said that I _might_ get some signal degradation. Is this likely? Can I buy some sort of booster to minimise this?
     
  2. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    I don't knoww the answer to your question, but apparantly Sky charge extra for long cable runs. I can't remember what that distance is from, but if they've not mentioned it to you I doubt your 20m is significant.
     
  3. simon123

    simon123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    20m is no prob
    i have installed between 30 and 40m on a 43cm dish with 75db at the receiver and up to 100m with a 80cm and line amp
    as long as the installer peakes the dish to max you wont have a problem
     
  4. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, 20m is right on the limit for the "shotgun" CT63 cable that Sky use for SKY+ installations. I would press them to use two runs of CT100 cable instead, just to make sure. CT63 will probably be OK but why risk "rain dropout".

    You can compare the cable losses here.
     
  5. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Will the crew carry this CT100 cable in the van or should I ring ahead and get them to bring it.

    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  6. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldnt use runs of more than 50m with ctu100 , 20m will be fine , I never use the shotgun type cable , crap imo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...