1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Martin Logan, a few comments.

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by uncle eric, Jun 7, 2002.

1. uncle eric

uncle eric

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I may, a few words regarding Martin Logan speakers discussed in the “Most Overrated Speaker” thread.

Not long ago, I decided that as an installer, I wanted to specialize in certain “ranges” of Home Cinema / Hi Fi equipment. There were many reasons for my thinking, one of which being it makes my job a whole lot easier by (constantly) establishing the “value” pieces of both mid-range and higher-end equipment and concentrating my efforts in getting to know them well and therefore wring out every last drop of performance without too much effort. To this end, I’m lucky enough to beg, borrow and have offered to me, a wide variety of equipment to try out.

A short while after Gordon Frazier came down for a visit, I managed to borrow a pair of Martin Logan Scenario’s for a period of around four days. I used my Denon AVCA1SE, and a (borrowed) Marantz 17KI Signature CD player. Interconnects used were Musical Fidelity Nu Vista.
    The Logan’s were some 6-8 months old and well run in by a close friend.

My first observation was that while these speakers had a smallish footprint, their height made them fairly imposing therefore perhaps not welcome in every home. Having said that, I quite liked the way they looked.