Marantz SR8001 or Denon 4306?

DragonDan69

Novice Member
Hi,

I am new to AV equipment so please forgive my ignorance.

I am having difficulty between a Marantz SR8001 and a Denon 4306 AV Receiver.

I am also deciding to get a Kef 5005 speakers or maybe Monitor Audio Radius R90AV-12(as recommended in What Hifi magazine!).

I am also thinking of getting a Denon 2930 DVD player. Apparently the Denon Link is great!

I am hoping to get it for movies, and music aswell. This, will definately be a big improvement on my existing set-up of an old Sony DAV550 all in one cinema box.

Anyone other system/separates/combination suggestions will be appreciated.

I don't have a big space, I have a kichen/lounge!:rolleyes:

But I am very happy with the arrangement! But I do not want any loudspeakers just yet, as I just don't have the space. So I was thinking small, but decent-good sounds. Basically something that can offer a taste of decent sounds from CDs or ipod(Apple Lossless!).

Something that can kick ass(bass & movies!), and offer some subtlety(classic/jazz) when the mood takes me!:thumbsup: Something that is a step up from my previous system!

I am interested in the Marantz for its 4 HDMI switch, but if the Denon is better.... a retailer said the Marantz is better for the same money, better sound! So I am getting a little confused, as people seem to have different views.

Thank you for any help!:thumbsup:

I just can't wait to find my ideal system! For the next 2-3 years anyway!:D

The Spaniard

Hi Dan,

Both have a similar spec and either will certainly do the job you want them to with ease. The best thing for you to do is try and demo them both. I would also consider the new hd dvd player from Tosh - the XE1 (even with the current problems - these will hopefully be soon resolved by software update) as opposed to the 2930 just to give you the ability to play hd discs.

Good luck.

DragonDan69

Novice Member
Hi Gary,