Marantz sr7001 latency with Hercules MP3 DJ controller

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Kickstone, Feb 2, 2009.

Tags:
  1. Kickstone

Kickstone
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll try and explain as best I can but please bear with me because I'm no expert.
    Have a pc connected to my Marantz and have recently bought a Hercules DJ Console Rmx midi controller to be able to mix my mp3's. Don't want to be a DJ but the thought of mixing my own stuff has always appealed to me and these mp3 mixers look quite good.
    The Hercules has it's own inbuilt soundcard which I have connected to the corresponding analog sockets on the Marantz. I also have a set of headphones connected to the Hercules to preview the music so I can mix the next tune in.
    The surround mode on the Marantz has always been set to Multi Channel Music (M-Ch Music) becase I always thought this gave me the best sound with the front speakers and also more importantly the sub.
    Now then, my problem is that when I play the music through my speakers with these settings and try and preview the next song in the headphones connected to the Hercules they are very slightly out of time. The speakers always seem to be slightly delayed to the headphones.
    At first I thought it was the Hercules but after plugging directly into a crappy pair of desktop speakers I realise now it's the Marantz. I'm figuring it's some sort of delay because of the processing. If I select source or pure direct on the Marantz the problem disappears but then I lose my sub. So it looks like I either have my sub but I have delay in the headphones (which is really friggin annoying) or I have no delay but lose my sub.