1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Marantz SR5400

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by honka, Feb 9, 2004.

Tags:
  1. honka

honka

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please help, I'm fairly new to world of Home Cinema and am looking to start of with a Marantz SR5400 and a surround sound speaker package.

I think I would like to go for this amp but would like get some feed back.

I am also trying to look for a good speaker package at a decent price.

I also intend to add a CD player at some stage soon hopefully.

I have a toshiba combo DVD/VCR.

2. calscot

calscot
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have one and think it's excellent. Very powerful but also controlled with precise steering. Music is warm and mellow with good clarity. Looks fantastic too. Reasonably future proof for a 6.1 system as it has DTS 96/24.

Check out the review here.

3. honka

honka

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info I pretty sure I will go for it, I notice you have the Eltax Liberty 5.1.

I have seen these in RS and think it looks like a good deal. Do they go well with the Marantz?

4. toadie

toadie
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I've had a a 5400 for about a month now, and all I can say is it's brilliant for the money.

Sounds fantastic was the my MA B4 av Speakers. Find myself turning the volume down sometimes, as it does me ears in. ( Maybe i'm just getting old lol )

Cheers

Toadie

5. bones`

bones`

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +46
    Nice sounding amp, poor remote. Instuction book is badly written. Doesn't seem as powerful as the figures suggest. A bargain at £300.

6. calscot

calscot
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0