1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Marantz SR5400 problems

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by spleenboy, Nov 7, 2004.

Tags:
  1. spleenboy

    spleenboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    There is, I'm sure, a painfully obvious solution, but at the moment I can get no sound from a digital source through my SR5400. I've connected front, rear and centre speakers and got a test signal from all. Analogue sources work fine. But when I select a digital input, nothing happens. It flashes 'No data'. At first, I thought it was a faulty coaxial lead, so I replaced it and still nothing. I then tried optical - again, nothing.

    Does anyone have this amp - am I missing something?

    Help :lease:

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    I had a Marantz SR-5300.

    Could it be you need to alter a setting in the menu of whatever you are connected to ?

    Some DVD players need the digital output setting to on / off, bitstream or PCM for example.
    It's worth checking you have plugged the cable in the right socket too. I was once summoned to a neighbour and found her problem was the digital co-axial cable was plugged into her DVD player's composite video output.

    Sorry can't think of anything else. :cool:
     
  3. spleenboy

    spleenboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I have a SONY RDR-GX7 DVD player, and have tried setting the digital out to both D-PCM and Dolby Digital - still nothing.

    It's also the correct socket :(
     
  4. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Do you have to alter the settings for the inputs on the Marantz too ?

    So they match ? :cool:

    Have you tried anything else through the digital inputs, CD player ?
     
  5. spleenboy

    spleenboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Indeed I have - I've set the 'DVD' input to 'Digital 4', which is the digital input number my coax is going into. And yes, I've tried 1-3, too.

    I've also tried using a different DVD player. Everything points to a faulty amp - but it's new, which is why I was reluctant to blame it. Still, it happens, right? :confused:

    I was hoping to find someone with the same amp, just in case it really is something very silly I'm missing...
     
  6. gtboy

    gtboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could ring Marantz on 01753680868. They are very helpful as I have had problems with my sr5400 too. What you have done sounds correct so give them a ring.
     

Share This Page

Loading...