1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Marantz SR 8500 and 4 ohm speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by drmax, May 7, 2005.

Tags:
  1. drmax

    drmax
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just purchased a Marantz 8500 which is 125 watts X7. I purchased 3 speakers from SNell Accoustics. Here's the issue. The speakers are 4 ohms and the Marantz is minimum 6 ohms. The rears are 8 ohms and the other two channels won't be used. I spoke with Marantz and they said I'd be okay, but I'm concerned. Thoughts would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. isko

    isko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you don't push Marantz so high with volume that might be ok.
     
  3. Bails

    Bails
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I don't think it will be a problem. I've used a Marantz SR9300 with 4 ohm speakers without issues - the Marantz amps are pretty good and never displayed any problems with the load, even at pretty high volumes.

    If you still have doubts, or if clipping occurs, you can always add Marantz monoblock amps for the front channels. The MA500 is pretty cheap and rated at 4 ohms.
     
  4. cliveuk

    cliveuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Folkestone, UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    not the same amp but i had the same problem. i have some dynaudio audience 52s which are 4 ohms, i bought a yamaha rx-v1500 which i found to be rated at 6ohm min even though i asked the shop if it would take 4ohm when i bought it to which they said it would be ok, i also phoned yamaha and they said it would be fine and will drive them no problem just set the amp to 6ohm and at times i have pushed it and there has been no sign of any problem.
     
  5. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have no reservations in stating that the amp will be fine.

    I only have reservations with difficult loads on entry level receivers.
     
  6. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    I agree with Harry, it will be absolutley fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...