Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Marantz sr 7400

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Dfour, Jan 28, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Does any one have one/ listened to the sr7400. Trying to get a demo is like trying to get blood from a stone. I am interested in these because of marantz musical ability on there amps while still being able to thump out any movie without stress and the amp has the new pro logic X fromat . It also has a rs232 port for a little furute proofing.
    I have seen them for arround £500 . Any input will be greatly appreciated.
    :smashin:
     
  2. Dishmeister

    Dishmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should be able to tell you once I get delievry of mine next weekend. Apparently Marantz had decided to reshuffle their warehouse over the busiest period in the year - hence the inability to get a demo anywhere!
     
  3. BAD Dave

    BAD Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +18
    What is an RS 232 port?
    Thanks
     
  4. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Think of it like a serial port - like on the back of your PC.

    You connect to it using either your PC or some other capable device and then can change settings and flash the memory.

    Normally this is done using a program called hyperterminal (free with windows). Marantz will probably supply they're own software for it.

    My router has one so I connect and setup all the routing and firewall properties.
     
  5. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    its an old serial port that you can connect up to a computer and then upgrade the software with to impove the performance or to add new features
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice