Question Marantz PM6006 UK - buzzing on digital inputs solved?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Demat, Jan 13, 2019.

  1. Demat

    Demat
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I've been researching the right amp for my budget and, like most, I end up finding UK websites and retailers who have given the PM6006UK either a top award, top review, sometimes for the last few years in a row. It seems like a popular amp with a great sound for the price point.

    I was going to arrange a demo at my (not so local) branch of Richer Sounds of course, as they pair it with Monitor Bronze 2 speakers, which I like the look of and have great reviews. But then I found this video:

    Goodbye Marantz PM6006 UK Edition - Noise On Digital Input
    Goodbye Marantz PM6006 UK Edition - Noise On...


    And after digging in the comments, it seems that others (in UK and abroad) have had the same issue, with Marantz repair returning units saying there's no problem; with direct replacement units also having the same problem - leading some to say that either that 'batch' was faulty, or the entire product is faulty.

    Rather than just leave it at that, I've searched forums/blogs/retailer comment sections etc expecting to find quite a lot of reports, if this is such a known issue. But, can't find more than half a dozen.

    Does anyone in the UK who has this model (bought in the last few months) have any info or experience of this buzzing issue? I'm hoping Marantz acknowledged and fixed it - then I can get on with a demo :)

    cheers,
    Chris
     
  2. Demat

    Demat
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    [bump] - Is there anyone with a PM6006uk who might have experienced this? (or, on the other hand, has a trouble-free version of this model? Cheers
     
  3. gibbsy

    gibbsy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    12,366
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cwm Cynon, De Cymru
    Ratings:
    +6,690
    What do you intend to feed the Marantz with? Do you know if the problem is on both digital inputs or confined to the optical or coax? With all kinds of forums it often seems full of people who have had poor unreliable products, those that have little or no problem tend not to appear on the forums unless they are real enthusiasts.

    Marantz products, as a rule, are pretty reliable and covered by a good warranty.
     
  4. Demat

    Demat
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gibbsy, thanks for replying. I'm basically looking to (mainly) use a turntable with the phono input, but also a cd and minidisc on the opticals. Apart from the video I copied in above (and the comments on that which seems to support the idea the issue is widespread) there's even the same issue reported in the ratings on the Richer Sounds page for the amp itself. EDIT: apparently its across all digital inputs.

    I'm really just trying to find out if this is/was a widespread or common issue, or limited to just a short run of units etc. Can't seem to find out if it's still a problem today, which is putting me off even demoing one (it's a fairly long journey to my 'local' Richer Sounds - or any other mainstream dealer actually).

    Yes - I hear you re: people without problems not being on the forums, just hoping for some definitive news on this somehow. I'm not against other amps in that budget range by the way, like the Cambridge CXA60 (which Richer Sounds also pair with the Bronze 2 speakers) but I'd heard good things about the Marantz (as it seems popular with people with similar music tastes to me).

    cheers!
    Chris
     
  5. gibbsy

    gibbsy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    12,366
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cwm Cynon, De Cymru
    Ratings:
    +6,690
    I don't have a Marantz amp but do own two CD players, one of them being the cd6006. Same DAC as the pm6006, which is where the problem probably lies or somewhere in the digital to analogue circuit. My sa8005 also has the same DAC.

    If your CD has it's own DAC you would connect by analogue to line in and thus bypass the DAC circuit.

    You could of course order from the interweb and thus be covered by the distant selling regulations. Any buzzing encountered would then be more than a reasonable reason for returning within 30 days. I also believe that you could return to Richer Sounds within the same time frame even if bought over the counter.
     
  6. Demat

    Demat
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - that's a good suggestion re: analogue line in, although I really need to use the digital inputs as I have too many separates to connect to it. I could do a web purchase like you said, good idea, but I would like to demo in a store first. I will probably have to bite the bullet and demo it. (BTW: I emailed the Richer Sounds branch a week ago to see if they could advise on this - no reply (yet) but I was hoping they'd be able to say something like 'We're aware of some people having an issue with this model but this issue was resolved by Marantz and we haven't had any returns since'.. Wishful thinking! ;)
     
  7. gibbsy

    gibbsy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    12,366
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cwm Cynon, De Cymru
    Ratings:
    +6,690
    For the price that you can get the pm6006 for it really is an amp that is hard to beat at that price. I'm the same as you, I'll always look at the negative reviews for anything that I've bought as unfortunately I'm a glass half empty type of person. Which is why my loft is full of empty AV boxes and old bits of kit...…..just in case.:)
     
  8. muljao

    muljao
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +639
    I have a pm6006 and a pm6005. No issue with digital inputs,. If you buy one and there is an issue it will be fixed under warranty or replaced.

    You'll generally find the small percentage of faulty electronics get much more attention and YouTube vids than the high percentage of non faulty units
     
  9. Demat

    Demat
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys

    Yes, snap - it's a real curse! :eek::)

    Thanks, is yours the pm6006 UK edition or the straight pm6006?
    And yes, the internet sort of becomes broken when trying to research stuff like this - you end up in negativity land.
    That said, if you have the UK edition and it's been fine, there might be some light at the end of the tunnel. Cheers!
     
  10. muljao

    muljao
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +639
    Not uk version
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice