Marantz MCR 611 lack of audio when connected to Sky Q

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by martley, Aug 24, 2018.

  1. martley

    martley
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I have the Marantz MCR 611 Melody Media streamer. It has its faults for sure including occasional ‘hanging’ when trying to connect to internet radio, AirPlay, etc but the problem I have I can’t seem to get sorted.

    I connected the ‘optical in’ to a Sky Q box and when I switch the MCR 611 on it nine times out of ten will not have any sound coming from the speakers connected to the MCR 611. If I switch the MCR 611 off and then turn on the Sky Q box and then turn the MCR 611 back on it will work fine. I can then switch off the Sky Q box and the MCR 611 will work normally. This is very frustrating and I’ve tried loads to deal with the problem; reset to factory settings; made sure the Sky Q box optical audio settings are set to ‘normal’ and so on but nothing seems to work. Before Sky Q I had the MCR 611 connected to a Sky HD box and didn’t have any of these audio issues. Has anyone else experienced this issue? Can it even be sorted? Who knows but any input would be appreciated. As a side note my opinion of the MCR 611 is that it’s fine on paper but the actual execution of the product leaves a lot to be desired. It’s too laggy I think.
     
  2. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,990
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,180
    As it used to work on a previous Sky box that would suggest that the issue is with the Q box, rather than the Marantz. Typically stereo devices can only accept a PCM stream rather than multi-channel, so I'd see if the Sky box has a PCM setting for it's optical output.

    If that doesn't solve it & no one else comes up with a solution, you may be better off posting in the Sky Forum.
     
  3. martley

    martley
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much x
     
  4. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,990
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,180
    Let us know how you get on. It's always useful to have solutions documented for future enquiries.
     
  5. xmb

    xmb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +190
    Consider trying a new/different optical cable, as the one you have may be faulty (reduced light transmission) creating your odd issue.
     
  6. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    I had that problem, noted switching to tuner then back to optical and it worked (no need to power down). Unfortunately, I also occasionally got a strange sound in a speaker like a dirty pot causing static which cleared when adjusting the volume and gave up with it in the end... very short lived and disappointed with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice