1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Marantz / Denon - Component out via Scart?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Falp, Jul 26, 2005.

  1. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi!

    Does anyone know if Marantz / Denon DVD Players have Component out via Scart? Even if not stated in the manual...

    Main interest, DV4500/6500, DVD 1910/2910.

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Why would you want to?
     
  3. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    The Denon's don't. I believe some Arcam's might though.
     
  4. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    Arcam's do, Playstation2 too (mine is connected that way to my Loewe TV).

    Marantz manuals say that if using Scart it will not have RGB output if component is chosen in menu... could it be component out?
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    Nope! AFAIK the Arcams don't output component via scart.
    About the only thing I know that does output component via the scart socket is the Netgem iPlayer Freeview box.

    If you have a TV that can accept component via scart then just get a scart to 3 RCA lead to get the component to the TV. Something such as This should do the trick.

    Mark.
     
  6. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    At least two guys I know have Arcam DVD Players connected that way, one at my advice... :D
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    Most DVD players can only output RGcvS or YUV component, even though component out is via dedicated RCA connections rather than scart.

    Mark.
     
  8. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    RGB and component Scart pins are the same.

    My PS2 is component connected using a PS2 RGB Scart cable...
     
  9. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    Yes but on my previous Tosh SD-900 and my Pio 656 if you set the output to RGB the RCA component outputs were disabled (or perhaps output RGBcvS, I can't remember). If set to composite/S-Video the scart output these formats only and the RCA's output Component. You couldn't have RGBcvS & Component output at the same time, even though on separate connections.

    Mark.
     
  10. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    That's usual I think...
     
  11. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    No one can confirm?

    For those who are using Denon or Marantz by Scart/RGB if component video out is selected the image stays the same? :lease:
     
  12. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    :lease:
     

Share This Page

Loading...