Marantz 9500 Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gandley, Jan 16, 2005.

  1. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    does anybody know if the marantz 9500 will pass interlaced(480i/576i) via
    its HDMI output?
     
  2. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Ah ha matey!

    That is a good question and I will let you know sometime this week when mine arrives!

    My A11 has served me reasonably well for the past year and the upgrade bug has bitten again. There is no way I am going to invest £2.5k on the A1-XV and have to put up with the customary early hiccups. Also I think it is too optimistic regarding the abilities with standard DVD (unless one is rich) given the HD-DVD time frame.

    I believe Marantz may have got this one right with the 9500. Great sound, stylish build and hopefully a great picture. Will keep you posted.

    Regards

    Darren
     
  3. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Darren m8 that will be great. if it does pass interlaced via HDMI then it could be a Shortlist item.
    Could you also advise on the layer change.

    Thanks Darren
     
  4. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just got the 9500 today so here's a quick run down

    From what I can gather, no interlaced output via HDMI though the HDMI is configurable for DVI standard and expanded (0-255 vs 16 - 255 gradients) AND Component (YUV 4:4:2 and 4:2:2 if memory serves me correctly)

    To briefly compare with the A11. Zero noise (macroblocking) and a very colourful picture. It's as though a layer of sheen has been removed from what I remember. Layer change is very quick, a slight 1/10th second stutter as tested on 3 discs.

    Now for the great part. CD replay has taken a leap up from the A11 IMHO. Again seems as though an extra layer of information is revealed. Comparing the two I feel the A11 was a bit too smooth and a tad bottom heavy whereas the 9500 is more coherant and lively without fatigue.

    I am STILL waiting for an HDMI board for my plasma so will report back soon as and when.

    Build quality is very good and the unit feels solid. The transport mechanism is silky smooth and silent.

    I am changing as I want full HDMI connection to display and discounted the 3910 as it was non too good for music compared to the A11. I am certainly not going to waste £2.5k on the A1-XV to endure possible teething issues and the fact that standard DVD quality has IMHO reached its peak. Detail can not be created from nothing despite the marketing claims!!

    I have had the fortune of comparative experience so can recommend either the Marantz 9500, Arcam FMJ DV27/DV29, Onkyo SP1000, Pioneer 868 and Denon 3910. These units currently sit at the pinnacle of video performance for sensible money. It's then a matter of PERSONAL preference and needs as to which to go for...
     
  5. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    I did a mini compare between 9500 and SP1000 on here a few weeks back.


    JOhn
     
  6. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    John - yes you did mate and kindly posted the pictures!

    I am very impressed so far with the 9500
     
  7. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    nice one, Shame no interlaced via HDMI that would of been icing on the cake as im adding a external scaler real soon.
    (though i see not even the AX1v will have this option either).

    Sounds nice though, and i do like the flash silver version
    (would fit in with my other gear)
     
  8. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hmm - one major caveat with my particular 9500 : it's REGION 2 only!!!

    Alegedly the unit has to be sent back to Marantz who's technical department perform the modification :confused:

    I have searched high and low for a hack but to no avail. It seems as though some Marantz players are easily hacked with a series of numbers entered by the RC while others need a "one-for-all" hex code.

    If anyone has any further information on a DIY hack I would be extremely grateful.

    Mr Gandley mate, the silver finish has to be seen to be appreciated. Looks very modern in an elegant way. Makes my outgoing A11 look a bit old fashioned!!
     
  9. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Have to agree the finish on the Marantz was top notch. Mine was region free, sorry got no more info.
    In the end I sold it and kept the Onkyo.
    Guy who bought it loves the cd playback.

    John
     
  10. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Onkyo integra sp1000?

    Also one on the shortlist, is that capable of interlaced via HDMI
     
  11. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Dustin,

    Be aware that there are two versions of the SP1000E. One by Integra Research which has the rather neat trick of taking IN a video signal to be output (I believe this is the unit sold in the UK). The other is the Onkyo SP1000E (!!) which is the same minus the video input. Both excellent players and have had a play with! Only problem is that this is ~ £2800 which places it ain Unidisk teritory!
     
  12. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo Gandley

    I'll checl on your question.
    Mine is the one that upconverts from s vid. It does a nice job, but component out direct from DVDR into proj is better.

    John
     
  13. ritesh

    ritesh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had trouble playing some of my disks on the Denon (especially DVD+Rs etc.); I was wondering how is Marantz in this regards? Any trouble playing the various disks, rented, recorded, etc.?

    thanks,

    Ritesh
     
  14. Lepton

    Lepton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1
    Darren, could you post if there is a button on the deck or on the remote for changing the SACD mode (CD, SACD stereo, SACD 5.1) or you have to go through the OSD menu?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  15. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Lepton,

    There is indeed an S.MODE button on the remote to switch between various SACD modes.

    Ritesh,

    So far every disc has played perfectly although on Bebel Gilberto CD it skipped a bit. Checked the disc and cleaned it - no further skipping. I don't use pirated films so can't comment on DVD-R!

    Darren
     

Share This Page

Loading...