1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Marantz 6200 Help Needed

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Mwillo, Apr 19, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Mwillo

    Mwillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +2
    Please help I am quite new to Home Cinema and have just purchased a marantz sr6200. And I have ran into a problem my tv only has 2 scart sockets on the back and was wondering how do i go about connecting the amp up so i get OSD. Please Help Me.

    Mark
     
  2. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Assuming that the 6200 is the same as the 7200, you won't need the scart. Just run a single phono cable from the monitor/tv out socket on the rear of the receiver to the input phono on the TV.
    This may be mounted on the front or side and is normally where you'd plug in a camcorder etc.

    The display will then show.

    Dumfy
     
  3. Mwillo

    Mwillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    Dumfy my tv is is quite old and does not have any phono connections.

    does this mean i cannot setup my amp properly until i get a decent tv.

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  4. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I have the same amp and it can only be setup through OSD. If your TV doesn't have any front inputs you will need a cable with phono on one end and a scart connector on the other.

    get the cheapest you can as you only need it connected whilst making adjustments
     
  5. Mwillo

    Mwillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanx Ian

    what are your impressions of the amp.. Do you have any setup tips for me.

    cheers
     
  6. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello Mwillo,

    Ian's post above is the way to go with this if your TV doesn't have any phono av inputs. As he says, just get a cheapo cable as it will only be used for set up purposes and removed when everythings been adjusted.

    The receivers are excellent both in home cinema and audio terms.

    The early models did have problems with popping sounds, of which mine was one, but the later models are fine.

    Enjoy it as I'm sure you will


    Dumfy

    ;)
     
  7. Mwillo

    Mwillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +2
    picked up a phone>scart cable for 4 pound that should do the job.

    thanx to all for your help......

    Mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...