Marantz 5200 question for an owner of

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Markster, Mar 6, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Markster

    Markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Looking at this image:

    http://www.marantz.com/p_product_alt.cfm?id=552&cont=e&line=avr&img_ext=bck

    On the back on the left you have your speaker pre-outs for connecting to an external amplifier

    From this picture it appears to me that the centre speaker (black phono socket) only has 1 phono pre-out?, i.e. it doesn't have a L and R as the fronts and rears do

    Can someone take a quick look at theirs and confirm?

    Thanks in advance for this
     
  2. Ricky27

    Ricky27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +220
    Hi,i think you are getting a little confused here,
    Each channel has 1 phono each,i.e left channel output is white and right channel output is red,each feeding one channel,therefore one speaker.
    As there is only one center speaker used in surround,one phono is all you need
    I hope this helps you.
     
  3. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes Ricky27, you are correct in the case of the Marantz but some amps now offer the option of two centre channels has some people say this is better for the larger screen.

    I belive this is the same channel split to give the same output to both speakers and is just so they can be set apart a little making the centre stage a bit wider. This could be useful for screens of say 40inch or larger.

    Mandlebrot :)
     
  4. Markster

    Markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ricky27
    No, there is no confusion in my question.

    Thanks for confirming the Maranatz has one out for the centre

    fyi the yamahas have 2 (L & R) for the centre

    thanks again
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,400
    but if you read some posts, you don't even need a centre!!
     
  6. Markster

    Markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the most important speaker in the room imo
     
  7. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I disagree as the most important speaker in our room is my wife because if I ignore her I won't get any dinner.
     
  8. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    fyi the yamahas have 2 (L & R) for the centre

    Which Yamaha? Don't you confuse this with the pre-out for the center rear on Ex/Es amps!? :confused:
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,400
    my yamaha 392 had 2 centre speaker outputs, in case you wanted 2 centres.
     
  10. martian1

    martian1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +678
    I had a pioneer amp rated 60w, this marantz is rated 90w yet i seem to be sucking a lot of juice from it to drive my speakers...]
    I have to crank it up to over 3/4 on dial to really get it kicking in anyone else get this. I also have to set my centre at +8 on speaker level menu.
    Can someone try this and tell me what you think. Put a DTS ES disc on [ T2 or Gladiator] and while amp is set to DTS mode also switch on S.Direct... Seems to give effects a great boost both in detail and power. Can you let me know your opinions..Thanks
     
  11. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    my yamaha 392 had 2 centre speaker outputs, in case you wanted 2 centres.


    As does my Yamaha DSP-A1 (two set of terminals) but they were talking about phono (RCA) connectors, thus referring to the pre-outs. So far I haven't seen any amp with two pre-outs for the (front) center channel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice