1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maplin r/c dimmer

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by TopMeTom, Sep 14, 2003.

  1. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Does anyone use these infra red dimmer kits?

    The maplin site has them at 14.99 reduced are they worth that?
    Can you use a learning remote with them(pronto)etc???????

    Phil:confused:
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
  3. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Do the tlc ones have problems breaking down?
     
  4. gilesm

    gilesm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    These are exactly the same as the ones you can buy from B&Q. I've had one for about 3 months now. Initially I had problems using a Sony Portable TV RC - didn't seem powerful enough, so half way across the room I could switch it on and off but not dim, yet a few feet from it could - I guess over the longer distance the signal broke up or something. Anyway I learnt this code with my Pronto and it's much better now, haven't had a single problem with it (save for it losing it's learning when we had a power cut) and it works seemingly over any distance.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    If they are the same as the B&Q ones, they are guaranteed by the manufacturrer for a year. I did have one of the manually-operated ones that failed. Posted it back to the mfg address. Returned inside a week fixed. No problems.
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I've had one of the tlc remote dimmers for about a year now.
    It has always worked fine without any problems. For the money they are IMO a great buy. Some people have reported problems with them, but all have said that they have been replaced without any hassle.
    They do loose their remote code if there is a power cut, but if you can get the hex code for your Pronto etc for the default code then there is no problem after a power cut as this is what it defaults to!

    Mark.
     
  7. pwafer

    pwafer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1
    For the money, these dimmers are fine... no one can argue with paying £15 for an infrared controllable dimmer!!!

    However, with all domestic level dimmers, the dimming devices used (the TRIAC) will be equally 'cost effective'

    The new influx of GU10 Mains Voltage Tungsten Halogen (transformer free) lamps has highlighted some drawbacks however. As with all filament lamps, when they blow you get a very short period of time where essentially the load goes SHORT CIRCUIT. This normally trips the feed circuit breaker or fuse. This short stresses the TRIAC immensely and if a heavily over rated TRIAC isn't used, then it will fail after a period of time.

    Pound for pound, these dimmers are great... but at the end of the day, at £15, there has to be a compromise.


    Paul.
     
  8. Demon

    Demon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +56
    I paid £25 for one at B&Q.. although since it works really well, I 'll just have to put it down to impulse buying...

    I laughed at a 'know it all' or 'can't be told' expert in work, who shelled out £35 each on these dimmers that where massive in-wall boxes, with remote doorbell style remotes...
     
  9. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +660
    Mark, can you post the "default" hex code for the pronto for these switches please, I have three of them and the default code would be very useful.
     
  10. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I don't have the default code as I have not bought the dedicated remote. Somebody on another thread said they had the remote and would post the hex code, but I have never seen it. It would be very handy to get hold of.

    Mark.
     
  11. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    I got one of the Maplin's ones a few days ago and relatively pleased with it - sometimes not responsive as it could be (have to press the button a couple of times) but for £15 they're pretty good.

    Instructions for usage were lacking though - can anything be done with buttons 2,3 & 4? Eg. can you program set lighting levels with them?
     
  12. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +660
    No, buttons 2,3 and 4 are for if you buy another three dimmer switches. You can now however buy three of the switches that tlc-direct sell for £10 and use this remote for them.
    I agree about the limeted functions though, It would be nice to be able to pre-set lighting scenes that you could get to at the press of a button.
     
  13. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Sandman, are the TLC ones similarly limited?
     
  14. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +660
    Unfortuately yes, they do look better then the maplin ones though but they will reset themselfs after a power cut (you will need to teach it the ir command again).
    If you want pre-set lighting scenes it looks like you might need some x-10 equipment and I dont know anything about this and it looks complicated.
     
  15. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nah, not that bothered, quite happy for £15 ;)
     
  16. graham r j

    graham r j
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought mine from my local Wilkinsons store, a plain white 'un for
    15 quid. Have had it now for about 18 months with no probs, apart from having to re-prog after a power cut, (which is no great shame given the price/cool factor etc).
    They also do a brushed aluminium/chrome 'un for 17 quid,which'll look good for my bedroom when I've finished decorating.

    WELL WORTH IT (imho)

    TTFN
     

Share This Page

Loading...