Manual pull down screen in front of window - bad idea?

Ki11ingTime

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been looking for areas in my house to mount a projector screen. The biggest room I've got measures just under 7 meters long. The only problem is, there are windows at the end of this room (both ends).

I can't put a fixed screen over the windows, it would block too much light during the day when the projector is not in use. I could mount a fixed screen on the adjacent wall, but the distance is not so great, so the image would be smaller.

As a compromise, I thought about mounting a manual roll up screen from the ceiling, in front of the windows. I've found a beamax R series 277 x 156 for 250 quid, which is within my budget, and I've checked the projector will fill the screen at this distance.

I've no experience at all with screens,, I've been using the wall up till now. Can anyone see a problem with a manual screen in front of windows?

Of course, I'll keep the curtains pulled and the windows shut while watching, but what about:

1: air currents from the radiator under the window? Could cause the screen to move about?

2. because I'm mounting this from the ceiling, I'll have to stand the screen away from the ceiling, so the image is at head height while sat down. Does anyone make stand-offs for this, or do I just use lengths of chain from hooks in the ceiling?
I imagine if I use chains to lower the screen assembly (permanently), the screen will take ages to stop moving around after I've pulled it down....

Any ideas, or is this asking for trouble?

Thanks.

I have been considering putting a screen in front of a window aswell so it will be interesting to watch this thread to see if any disadvantages are flagged up.