Manual or Automatic region change

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by raven219, Mar 7, 2001.

  1. raven219

    raven219
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Anglia (well someone has to live there!)
    Ratings:
    +19
    I am looking at buying the Sony DVP735. As per normal Richer sounds is doing a good deal on a multi-region version. The details say that this is automatic region mod (and not RCE compliant).

    Should I spend a little bit more and get the manual region mod espically as there is good chance that this player might have to go outside Europe in the near future.
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    No matter if it goes outside of Europe or not, make sure it's RCE compatible (ie manual code selection possible) in any case!
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,083
    AFAIK (maybe I'm wrong) none of the Sony mods will play RCE. Suggest Pioneer - they do
     
  4. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Any player with manual code selection should work ...

    ------------------
    If I can't eat it, drink it or fudge it, I ain't interested.
     
  5. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,479
    I have a Sony player, works ok with the Paragon mod
     
  6. adnan77

    adnan77
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you guys tell me how to make the manual region change in sony players ?
     
  7. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    That depends on the modification. The manual change might not even enabled on your player - contact your dealers / company who did the modification to find out if it can be done.
     
  8. tan1415

    tan1415
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suggest looking at the pioneer or a toshiba.
    Sony has a lot of trouble with modifications and RCE esspecially the newer models.

    If you insist on a Sony i suggest you checkout the "old" 725 or the 7700.

    manual or automatic.
    I think manual change is a MUST.
    RCE is just new and it will only improve. With manual you can avoid RCE all together.

     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice