Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Making VGA to BNC to RCA Lead

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Goof, Jan 5, 2003.

  1. Goof

    Goof
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Though I was delighted with my first Pj that I bought recently (Epson EMP 700), when I decided to upgrade for a bit of progressive scan action recently I discovered my Pj doesn't have component connections...however, there was still a chance to get PS by using the VGA input.

    I've had a look on the net and a $150 VGA-RCA lead is way out of my price range but I saw another thread here saying I could get a VGA-BNC cable, then use some adapters to change BNC to RCA.

    Has anyone else tried this? Good results?

    On a side matter, to complicate things, I recently bought a 10m SVGA (15M-15M) cable from Lindy and I was wondering if, instead of buying another 10m VGA-BNC, I could get a 1m VGA-BNC and plug it on the end of my current V+SVGA lead? (also, small issue, I take it I have to get SVGA to BNC and not just VGA-BNC? my Pj is XGA).

    TIA :)
     
  2. GaryG

    GaryG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, I use a VGA-VGA with a VGA BNC to connect to the projector without problem. The extra connection will deteriorate the signal slightly but whether that's noticeable is another matter without a similar BNC-BNC to evaluate against.
     
  3. Goof

    Goof
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the reply Gary...I may just get a longer VGA-BNC as the cost isn't that much more.

    Were you happy with the quality of the connection? Do you use Progressive Scan with this type of connection?
     
  4. GaryG

    GaryG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, and Yes. I used the lead to connect my HTPC to my projector the quality is outstanding, not aware of any signal loss.
     
  5. Goof

    Goof
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's great Gary, thanks for the info :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice