Making up my own Amp - BFD cables

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Ninj, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. Ninj

    Ninj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi all,

    I cant find a reasonably priced mono 1/4" to RCA cable for my BFD so Im going to make my own.

    Ive only ever used stereo plugs so am I right in thinking a mono 1/4 jack plug/RCA connector is the same as a stereo one but without the screen connection?

    Can I use stereo connectors but just wire up the centre signal pin?

    Any recommendations for a decent mono cable for short lengths?

    Thanks in advance

    Rich
     
  2. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,918
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,617
    I made my own leads recently as well. Got screened mono 1/4" jacks from Radioshack. Easy peasy to solder the cable, which FWIW is some Van Damme guitar connection lead cable I got from Maplins. It's flexible and the single core is well shielded. I have also used shielded twin core microphone cable on a 15m run from the amp to the BFD, no interference or hum whatsoever. This cable I think cost me 80p per meter!
     
  3. Ninj

    Ninj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks bob,

    Still confused about the conectors though. Whats the difference between a screened mono and a stereo plug?

    I assume the cable you used was a single core cable with a screen around it?

    Thanks

    Richie
     
  4. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,918
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,617
    I don't know, but as I had to buy two 1/4 inch plugs anyway, I wasn't going to chance it not working.

    Yes. Similar to this:
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=123&doy=30m4
     
  5. Ninj

    Ninj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks mate,

    Do you have a link for the plugs?
     
  6. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,918
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,617
    Sorry, no. I went into an actual Radioshack shop to buy them! Can you believe it?!! ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...