1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making my first DVD

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by GaleForce, Apr 18, 2004.

1. GaleForce

GaleForce

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need help, as I am a complete noob when it comes to making DVDs. I have a collection of .avi video files that I have been building up for a while now, and I recently got a computer with a DVD writer. I went out to Comp USA today to buy some blank DVD+R discs, and since they aren't exactly cheap, I would like to know what I am doing before I start burning.

So, I have some questions;

Are .avi files compatable in a DVD player, or would I need to convert the video to some format recognizable by a DVD player?

How can I make a "menu" so someone could select which video they would like to watch instead of having to thumb through the chapters?

Can you recommend some good beginner software? I don't need a lot of functions, just the ability to burn DVDs with a menu, so if there is a free solution that will do that I would definitely be interested. Otherwise any software that is good for someone new would be fine.

Thanks a ton :)

2. vonhosen

vonhosen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14
    .avi files won't be compatable with the DVD player

You will need to encode the .avi files to MPEG-2 files & then these be authored (within an authoring program) so that you will have the req'd VOB etc files for DVD. The authoring program should help you with building menus as well (though generally with higher end authoring products you will have to create menu sub layers yourself in photo editing programs like Photoshop).

I don't use it myself but the beginner product that seems to be favoured here is Ulead's Movie Factory 3 which will probably do all you need.

3. GaleForce

GaleForce

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: