Making laptop output to projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Dangerous_Dave, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. Dangerous_Dave

    Dangerous_Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hello all,

    A while back I bought an infocus in1 projector with the modest aim of projecting onto a blind in the ubershed I've built at the top of the garden. I want my laptop, which has the ability to output a picture via a vga port, to act as the input to the projector, but I can't get it to work. I've attached the laptop to the projecter using a vga to RGB 3 way cable. The laptop screen goes black, as I would expect, but the projector doesn't output the picture.

    Any help greatly appreciated,

    Richard
     
  2. boksbox

    boksbox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +93
    On my laptop the F8 key acts as a swict, if I press alt and F8 and had a projector connected the output would be re-directed.

    I've used many laptops in the past some happily display to a projector and the laptop itself others to one or other but not both at once.

    Do you have any other display devices e.g. LCD TV or monitor that you could compare the projector to?
     
  3. Dangerous_Dave

    Dangerous_Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +58
    The laptop outputs to an LCD monitor ok. I don't mind if it doesn't display on the laptop screen at the same time, but i can't seem to get the projector to pick it up under any circumstance.

    Richard
     
  4. KelvinS1965

    KelvinS1965
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17,077
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +8,026
    You'll have to check the projector's manual to see what input resolution it will accept. Some PJs will only accept limited resolutions via VGA or Component. You'll then have to set your laptop to that resolution and then try it with the PJ using the 'F8' button or whatever is needed to send the picture to the PJ instead of the laptop.
     
  5. the_grinder

    the_grinder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +17
    Which laptop and which projector?
     
  6. Dangerous_Dave

    Dangerous_Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +58

    I hadn't thought of that. The PJ runs at 640x480 I believe, and my laptop's monitor is going at a much higher (widescreen) resolution than that. Perhaps that's what's causing the issue. For some reason I thought the PJ would just automatically transpose the signal to its native resolution.

    @ the other respondent (forgot name while i was typing), the projector is an infocus in1, and the laptop is a toshiba tecra m9.
     
  7. the_grinder

    the_grinder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sounds like it could be the resolution then.

    Sorry, I should've read your initial post for projector name! :rolleyes:

    I just wondered if it had a vga input, but it doesn't so the connector you're using sounds like the best option.
     

Share This Page

Loading...