Major Help need to build a Blu-ray PC

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Cocksure, Apr 26, 2007.

1. Cocksure

Cocksure

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,547
    Hi all, I’m a complete newbie here who is after some advice on what I need to buy/upgrade so as I can play Blu-ray discs on my pc. The current PC I have so far has a Pentium 4 3.4HT processor, 1 Gig of ram and 186 gb hard drive, is this all ok or does it need upgrading, likewise I have no idea what type of video card I need or sound card, I would like any sound card to have a 7.1 output if possible though. Is their anything else I all so need to look at (apart from a blu-ray drive)? Many thanks in advance
    Lizard

2. andyr300

andyr300

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +104
    mainly you will need a gfx card that supports HDCP

3. Cocksure

Cocksure

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,547
    Thanks, that lets me know one area to look at. :thumbsup:
    What i really dont understand though is how things work with the sound. I belive that Cyberlink PowerDVD decodes all the different sound formats, but i dont understand what type of soundcard i need to be looking at that can traslate the information to send it to my amp?

4. sideysid

sideysid

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +31
    The Realtek ALC885 supports HDCP and is the only audio chip that does at the moment.

I'd look at the Abit Fatality F-I90HD for an all-in-one solution. Mind you the program AnydvdHD disables HDCP if not.

Do you want to change the case too? Theres some good HTPC options around.

5. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    What sort of audio feed are you looking for? If you have an A/V receiver then you may be best off taking the encoded digital out of the PC and letting the receiver decode it: known as 'pass through' mode from the sound card's perspective.

6. Cocksure

Cocksure