1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Major Changes to Freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Daftboy, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I couldn't see a post on here, so after finding the information, I thought it best to put it on:

    On the 18th October there will be changes to the broadcast order of DDT channels.

    If you have DTT set top box or IDTV, you may be required carry out reinstallation of channels.

    1 BBC ONE*
    2 BBC TWO*
    3 ITV1* (additional regional titles)
    4 Ch4* (S4C in Wales)
    5 five*
    6 ITV2
    7 BBC THREE*
    8 Ch4 (Wales)*/Tele G (Scotland)
    9 BBC FOUR*
    10 ITV3
    11 Sky Travel
    12 UKTV History
    13 More 4
    14 E4
    15 ABC1 (not in Wales)
    16 QVC
    17 UKTV Gold
    18 The Hits
    19 UKTV Br’tIdeas
    20 ftn
    21 TMF
    22 Ideal World
    23 Bid TV
    24 Price Drop TV
    25 TCM
    26 UKTV Style
    27 Discovery
    28 DiscoveryRTime
    29 UKTV Food
    30 vacant
    31 vacant
    32 E4 + 1
    33 Eurosport
    34 Setanta Sports
    35 vacant
    36 Xtraview
    37 Quiz Call
    38 Men & Motors
    39 vacant
    40 vacant
    41 vacant
    42 vacant
    43 vacant
    44 vacant
    45 vacant
    46 vacant
    47 vacant
    48 vacant
    49 vacant
    50 vacant
    51 vacant
    52 vacant
    53 vacant
    54 vacant
    55 vacant
    56 vacant
    57 vacant
    58 vacant
    59 vacant
    60 vacant
    61 vacant
    62 vacant
    63 vacant
    64 vacant
    65 vacant
    66 vacant
    67 vacant
    68 vacant
    69 vacant
    70 CBBC Channel*
    71 CBeebies*
    72 Cartoon Network
    73 Boomerang
    74 Toonami
    75 vacant
    76 vacant
    77 vacant
    78 vacant
    79 vacant
    80 BBC News 24*
    81 ITV News
    82 Sky News
    83 Sky Sports News
    84 Bloomberg
    85 BBC Parliament*
    86 S4C2*
    87 Community
    88 Teachers’ TV
    89 vacant
    90 vacant
    91 vacant
    92 vacant
    93 vacant
    94 vacant
    95 vacant
    96 vacant
    97 Television X
    98 Red Hot
    99 vacant
    100 Teletext*
    101 Teletext TV Guide
    102 Teletext Holidays
    103 Teletext Cars
    104 Teletext on 4
    105 BBCi*
    106 YooPlay
    107 vacant
    108 vacant
    109 vacant
    110 vacant
    111-299 - vacant
    300 4TV Interactive
    301 301 (BBCi)*
    302 302 (BBCi)*
    303 303 (BBCi)*
    304 vacant
    305 vacant
    306 vacant
    307 vacant
    308 vacant
    309 vacant
    310 vacant
    311-699 - vacant
    700 BBC Radio 1*
    701 1Xtra BBC*
    702 BBC Radio 2*
    703 BBC Radio 3*
    704 BBC Radio 4*
    705 BBC R5 Live*
    706 BBC 5L SportsX*
    707 BBC 6 Music*
    708 BBC 7*
    709 BBC Asian Net*
    710 BBC World Sv
    711 The Hits Radio
    712 Smash Hits!
    713 KISS
    714 Heat
    715 Magic
    716 Q
    717 oneword
    718 SmoothFM
    719 BBC Radio Scotland/Ulster/Wales*
    720 BBC Radio nGaidheal/Foyle/Cymru*
    721 Mojo
    722 Kerrang!
    723 talkSPORT
    724 3C
    725 Premier
    726 vacant
    727 vacant
    728 vacant
    729 vacant
    730 vacant
    * = PSB

    Hope it of help :thumbsup:
     
  2. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    Toonami is a good addition

    What does PSB mean?
     
  3. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    Thanks for that. (We're going away for a week on the 18th, so will have to reinstall on return.)
     
  4. ZippyCat

    ZippyCat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +22
    Is it just me but where do the main TV carriers get their channel numbering / ordering from, it always seem illogical? Why are there so many vacant channels?
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    It's all a mystery for us simple folk but at least there are some Freeview boxes which allow you to create your own channel list which makes life easier.

    Vacant EPG slots have yet to be assigned to any channel (radio, tv or whatever) or maybe reserved. Makes the list look impressive though, you wouldn't think looking at it there was less capacity there than on a single satellite:)
     
  6. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    Public Service Broadcast.
     
  7. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    It's the DTI/Ofcom.

    The vacant channels are for possible future expansion.

    They are trying to group similar services together.
     
  8. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Future listings as mentioned, but if you look at the size of the multiplex's available, maybe they are gearing up ready for the HD Broadcast due 2008 I think??
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    What HD broadcast in 2008? This is news to me ! There isn't enough bandwidth on Freeview for SD !
     
  10. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    There were some discussions a few months ago about the bandwidth on freeview and all the parties had to vote on staying with the 2 service or move onto the 8 service. What the service is, I can't remember, but I know the rest of europe use the 8 service. Anyway, the UK is going to move onto the 8 service which will start when analogue gets switched off in 2006/7-2012.
    By moving to the 8 service it will give them higher bandwidth to show HD channels, starting with BBC1 and 2. 2008 might be a bit soon, but the dates viewed were 2008-2010 introduction of HD service.
    Also, by moving onto the 8 service, all of the on-digital boxes and older freeview boxes will be incompatible and need replacing. What I am unsure about is if the cheap lot coming in now from China will be compatible??? No-one it appears governs Freeview boxes, so all the £29.99 ones we age getting now COULD be useless. I don't know and I very much doubt anyone in the shops will either.
     
  11. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Sounds a bit dubious to me - presuade everyone to buy set-top boxes in preparation of the analogue switch-off, then make them all redundant by changing the specs ? Is this for real ?
     
  12. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well, they haven't persuaded anyone yet!, or informaed the public yet?, like I said, I don't know if the new cheap boxes are okay as they are not checked by an authority, so who knows.
    I didn't want to make a speculation post, but I think people should be aware of the changes they have listed. Afterall, who knew about the changes on October 18th?
    Fingers crossed most of the boxes will be okay, I HOPE THE 2 I HAVE ARE!
     
  13. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    All recent boxes can handle both 2k and 8k COFDM transmissions. The main exceptions are some older Sony IDTVs made in the early days of OnDigital and some other very old boxes, most of which are now defunct anyway.

    This was researched by Ofcom and Intellect before the proposal to change to 8k was made.
     
  14. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks for clearing it up. Forgot about the Sony TV's.
    I presume then Ofcom and Intellect monitor / check all of the imports coming into the UK for compatibility?
     
  15. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    No, but the members of the Intellect Technical Commitee, all of whom come from the major manufacturers (I am a member), have checked their own products.

    Most boxes use one of a handful of standard chipsets anyway and these are all 2k/8k compatible as they are the same chipsets that are used througout Europe.
     
  16. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Gotcha, thanks for the info.
     
  17. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    The epg update happened.

    I don't appear to have got some of the new channels though...
     
  18. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    It's best to do a complete rescan. Most boxes will have a few quirks with this many changes in one go.
     
  19. rozzar

    rozzar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +23
    anyone else finding their boxes are giving abismal picture/sound quality with a lot of blocking, presuambly due to this major reshuffle?
     
  20. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yep, the picture was breaking up quite badly earlier.

    I've done a full rescan, but will try another tomorrow.
     
  21. ad47uk

    ad47uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    This update should not make any difference to the quality or the signal, as it is only the numbers that changing, not the frequencies.

    I have not rescanned, eveything is working fine, so I will leave it like it is until I have to rescan.
     
  22. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I think part of the problem was the rain yesturday.
    Did the re-scan (Box does it automatically) and some of the channels took 10-20 seconds to appear (5, QVC, etc).
    Anyway, the rain has stopped this morning, did a re-scan and all channels appear to be working okay.
     
  23. rondun

    rondun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since I did a rescan, it seems i've lost all the channels on multiplex A.
    Anybody else had the same trouble?

    I did notice after the first rescan that radio 1 was up on channel 813 or something (although it said no service was being received) and 88 channels found
    After another couple of rescans i now get 59 channels and nothing up in the 800's.
     
  24. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
  25. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    I was under the impression channels like Toonami would be available, but I can't see it.

    Have I misunderstood the situation?

    ITV4 has appeared though. (great....)
     
  26. ad47uk

    ad47uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Toonami is only a Top up T.V channel. but it should still be on the EPG, unless your box do not show encypted channels.

    Where is ITV4 going or are they going to get rid of Men and motors?
     
  27. Starfury

    Starfury
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    My re-scan found the ITV4 channel... its broadcasting nothing at the minute. Its on Channel Number 30 and as Men & Motors is 38 I dont see why one will replace the other.
     

Share This Page

Loading...