Magic eye problem

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by jayzeer, Oct 31, 2004.

  1. jayzeer

    jayzeer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My magic eye for sky+ viewing from upstairs isnt working anymore - the red light on it doesnt appear. Bought a new one & still no red light, not working. Could I have just had a bad batch from the shop - go back replace or could it be another problem?
     
  2. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,008
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +233
    Are you sure it's not a sat box problem - RF2 outputs 9v to power the infra red receiver - maybe the sat box is at fault!
     
  3. Karma

    Karma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    Box could have reset itself so that rf2 no longer outputs the 9v power (have you had a powercut or does anyone have fiddly fingers in the household?).

    I had a problem with my magic eye, but only occasionally. It turned out that the sun, at certain times of the day was flooding stariaght onto the eye and it couldn't "see" the remote control signal.
    K
     
  4. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    the ouput needs to be acticvated in the service menu for it to work
     
  5. KeithO

    KeithO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Erding, Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +214
    Had exactly the same problem myself last week, and tried exactly the same solutions. Turned out to be the cable. Over the course of the past 2 years, being trapped in the bedroom door evey night must have split the outer sheathing or something. Still had a picture, just couldn`t control the box from upstairs, and no light on the magic eye.

    Change of cable and hey presto...all is well again
     
  6. Zarch

    Zarch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +827
    To test if the magic eye's are working, plug them directly into the back of the didibox (rf2). Cover up the digibox remote control sensor and try changing channels! You should at least get the red light on the eye aswell.

    Good luck. :smashin:
     
  7. jayzeer

    jayzeer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I'll try that. What I do get from the cable upstairs is to watch whatever channel is on the Sky+ downstairs hence the cable is working but not the magic eye for me to change channels with.
     

Share This Page

Loading...